
Best portable saunas
12 portable saunas compared on heat, max temp, power and warranty. Our top pick is the Clearlight The Curve Far Infrared Sauna Dome + Amethyst Infrared PEMF Mat, $1,599. Read the full summary ↓
All 12 portable saunas
12 of 12 portable saunas

Infrared PEMF Sauna Dome


Solo Dome Chromo

Solo System

Sauna Dr (Limited Edition)



Thera 360 Personal Infrared Sauna

FIR9008 Portable Far Infrared Sauna











Thera 360 Personal Infrared Sauna



Filters
All portable saunas compared
| Model | Price | Heat | Seats | Max temp | Power | Warranty | Returns |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clearlight The Curve Far Infrared Sauna Dome + Amethyst Infrared PEMF Mat | $1,599 | Far infrared (True Wave) + amethyst PEMF mat | 1 | 153°F | 120 V, 1000 W, 8.3 A | 7 years | 30 days |
| Bon Charge Infrared PEMF Sauna Dome | $3,349 | Far infrared 5–14 µm + PEMF 1–30 Hz + 660/850 nm LEDs | 1 | 194°F | 1200 W | 1 year | 30 days |
| SereneLife Oversize Portable Infrared Home Spa (SLISAU20SL) | $199.99 | Far infrared, 3 carbon panels, 1050 W | 1 | 140°F | 120 V, 1050 W | Not stated | Not stated |
| Sunlighten Solo Dome Chromo | $1,999 | Far infrared (SoloCarbon): 5 heaters in the domes, 2 heating zones | 1 | 150°F | 120 V, 1,260 W, 10.5 A | 7 years | 30 days |
| Sunlighten Solo System | Price on request | Far infrared (SoloCarbon): 5 heaters in domes + 4 in SoloPad | 1 | 150°F | Solo 120 V 1260 W 10.5 A + SoloPad 120 V 300 W 2.5 A | 7 years | 30 days |
| Therasage Sauna Dr (Limited Edition) | $999 | Not stated | 1 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 30 days |
| SaunaSpace FireLight Sauna (formerly Luminati / Faraday) | $4,995 | Near-infrared incandescent lamps: 4 bulbs (Classic) or 7 (SuperSauna) | 1 | Not stated | Classic: 1,000 W, 8.3 A at 120 V | 5 years | 100 days |
| Durasage 101 Portable Infrared Sauna, X-Large | Price on request | Far infrared | 1 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Therasage Thera 360 Personal Infrared Sauna | Price on request | Full-spectrum infrared (near, mid, far), TriLite red/NIR, grounding, tourmaline and jade | 1 | Not stated | Not stated | 2 years | Not stated |
| Relax Sauna FIR9008 Portable Far Infrared Sauna | Price on request | Far infrared, semiconductor emitter 7-14 µm (listing) | 1 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| SaunaBox Pulse PRO Infrared Sauna with Red Light Therapy | Price on request | Infrared panels (ThermoCell) | 1 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Smartmak HL-017 Two-Person Portable Far Infrared Sauna | Price on request | Far infrared, 3 carbon panels, 1600 W | 2 | Not stated | 110 V, 1600 W | 1 year | Not stated |
Which portable sauna to buy
We track 12 portable saunas. Clearlight The Curve Far Infrared Sauna Dome + Amethyst Infrared PEMF Mat has the highest score, 8.75/10, tied with 3 other models. Prices run $199.99 to $4,995, checked Oct 8, 2026. 6 models are price on request.
Portable saunas come in three shapes: an infrared tent you sit in with your head out, a dome you lie under, and a steam tent. They all run on a regular outlet where the brand says, and they're far cheaper than a cabin, but they don't get as hot: steam tents top out at 140°F by brand specs.
The one I'd buy is the Clearlight The Curve Far Infrared Sauna Dome + Amethyst Infrared PEMF Mat at $1,599, a sale price with a 7-year warranty. Most tents here have no confirmed price at all.
12 portable saunas are in our database. Only 5 have a price confirmed on the seller's own page; the sixth, SereneLife's $199.99, comes from a search snippet. That says something about this category: many are sold on marketplaces where listings change weekly.
Two well-known names are in the comparison without a price on file: Sunlighten Solo System (a dome with a heated pad, 7-year warranty, $299 restocking fee plus 3% on returns) and Therasage Thera 360 Personal Infrared Sauna. Sunlighten does print one portable price: the Sunlighten Solo Dome Chromo, the dome on its own without the heated pad, is $1,999 on the brand's store. Therasage's Therasage Sauna Dr is $999, but its page wouldn't load for me, so I have the price and nothing else. The SaunaSpace FireLight Sauna works differently from every other tent here: near-infrared incandescent bulbs instead of carbon panels. It costs $4,995 in its basic version (checked Oct 8, 2026) and comes with a 100-day home trial.
Which type of portable sauna?
| Type | How you sit | Heat | Top temperature brands list | Power |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Infrared tent or box | Seated, head outside | Carbon panels | 140°F (SereneLife) | 1050–1600 W where listed |
| Dome | Lying down, head outside | Carbon heaters over a mat | 150–194°F | 1,000–1,260 W |
| Steam tent | Seated, head outside | Steam generator | 113–140°F | 800–1,600 W |
The difference that shows up in the numbers is heat. Where brands publish a top temperature, infrared domes reach 194°F and steam tents mostly stop around 115°F. That's a long way from the 150–195°F of a traditional sauna (Cleveland Clinic). Steam tents get their own comparison on portable steam saunas.
Size, weight and setup
| Model | Type | Size and weight |
|---|---|---|
| Clearlight The Curve Far Infrared Sauna Dome + Amethyst Infrared PEMF Mat | Dome | Mat 73 × 29.5 × 2 in; dome dimensions not stated |
| Bon Charge Infrared PEMF Sauna Dome | Dome | Dome 180 × 80 × 45 cm (70.8 × 31.5 × 17.8 in); mat 180 × 80 cm; 33 kg |
| SereneLife Oversize Portable Infrared Home Spa | Tent | Assembled 27.6 × 31.5 × 37.8 in; 19.58 lb |
| Sunlighten Solo Dome Chromo | Dome | Dome 69 × 28 × 18 in; 46 lb |
| Sunlighten Solo System | Dome | Dome 69 × 28 × 18 in, 46 lb; SoloPad 74 × 23.6 × 4 in, 13 lb |
| SaunaSpace FireLight Sauna | Tent | Entrance width 52 in, rear width 24 in, depth 52 in, height 63 in; Classic 44.9 lb, SuperSauna 51.9 lb |
| Durasage 101 Portable Infrared Sauna, X-Large | Tent | 27.5 × 30 × 38 in; 17.51 lb |
| Therasage Thera 360 Personal Infrared Sauna | Tent | Packaged 42.5 × 33 × 8.25 in |
| Relax Sauna FIR9008 Portable Far Infrared Sauna | Tent | 31.5 × 31.5 × 45.28 in; 26 lb |
| Smartmak HL-017 Two-Person Portable Far Infrared Sauna | Tent | Assembled 47.28 × 35.46 × 63 in |
This is the real case for a portable sauna: most fold into a closet and weigh about as much as a suitcase. The two-person Smartmak is the exception at 47.28 × 35.46 × 63 in assembled, closer to a small wardrobe. Domes need floor space the length of a person, and a pad or mat underneath. Where brands list power, all of them run on a regular 110–120 V outlet.
Do portable saunas really work?
They do heat you up. In a 2023 study, 12 men sat in portable steam pods at 111°F (44°C) and 99% humidity for an hour; their core temperature rose to about 100.6°F (38.1°C) and they lost about 0.7 liters of sweat (Willmott, 2023). The study measured whether the pods heat consistently, not health effects.
What portable saunas don't have is the long-term evidence people quote for saunas. The Finnish studies linking sauna use to lower heart-disease rates followed people in traditional saunas at 176–212°F (80–100°C) for years (Laukkanen, 2015). That doesn't transfer to a tent running at 113–194°F. What the studies on saunas show.
Downsides
- Short or missing warranties. 5 of the 8 tents here don't state a warranty; Smartmak lists 1 year on Amazon. Domes do better: Clearlight and Sunlighten give 7 years.
- Returns. Return shipping is usually on you, and Sunlighten charges $299 plus 3% to take a Solo back.
- Specs you can't check. Marketplace listings give wattage and temperatures that change between versions; the seller of the Relax FIR9008 claims FDA approval, and I found no FDA record for it.
- Claims. Listings for cheap tents promise detox and weight loss. Weight lost in a sauna is water: about 1.4–1.8% of body weight over three sessions in one small study (Gutiérrez, 2003).
Blankets vs tents vs domes
A sauna blanket is the cheapest and smallest option: you lie in a heated sleeping bag. A dome does the same with the heaters above you instead of wrapped around you. A tent lets you sit up and read. Blankets are compared on our sauna blankets page.
One recall to know about: in October 2025 the CPSC announced a recall of LifePro BioRemedy infrared sauna blankets over burn risk (CPSC notice). It covers blankets, not tents or domes.
Is a portable sauna safe?
The risks are the same as any sauna: dehydration, dizziness, and much higher risk with alcohol (Hannuksela, 2001). High body temperature in early pregnancy is linked to neural tube defects (Moretti, 2005). Maxxus' manual, typical of sauna instructions, says not to use one after drugs, medications or alcohol and to keep children out unless a doctor approves and an adult supervises (manual). See our medical disclaimer.
For one person in a small space, a compact cabin is the step up: one-person saunas.
Questions people ask
Do portable saunas really work?
They raise body temperature: in one study, an hour in a steam pod at 111°F (44°C) took core temperature to about 100.6°F (38.1°C) (Willmott, 2023). The long-term health studies were done in traditional saunas, not tents.
Which is the best portable sauna?
Of the models with a confirmed price, the Clearlight The Curve Far Infrared Sauna Dome + Amethyst Infrared PEMF Mat: 7-year warranty, 153°F, $1,599 on sale.
What is the downside of a portable sauna?
Lower heat than a real sauna, short warranties on cheap tents, and listings whose specs you can't verify. The section above has the details.
What is 20 minutes in the sauna equivalent to?
Not exercise. Right after a session heart rate rises by about 18 beats per minute on average (Li, 2020); in a small trial, an infrared sauna raised body temperature more than cycling but didn't reproduce its effects on blood pressure and arteries (Hussain, 2022).
How we picked
Every sauna gets 1.5 to 2 points on each of 5 criteria: Heat figures, published specs, price per person, warranty and returns and owner reviews. The score out of 10 is the sum, from 7.5 to 10. Owner reviews not summarized yet, so every model gets 1.75 of 2 points there for now. Prices were checked on Oct 8, 2026. Read the full method.


















