Best barrel saunas

9 barrel saunas compared on heat, max temp, wood and power. Our top pick is the Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Serenity (CTC2245W), $6,127. Read the full summary ↓

All 9 barrel saunas

9 of 9 barrel saunas
9 of 9 barrel saunas

All barrel saunas compared

9 models · prices and specs checked Oct 8, 2026 · scroll →
All barrel saunas compared: price, heat, seats, max temp, wood, power, warranty, returns. Prices checked Oct 8, 2026.
ModelPriceHeatSeatsMax tempWoodPowerWarrantyReturns
Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Serenity (CTC2245W)$6,127Heater sold separately (electric or wood)5Not statedEastern White Cedar (Grade A), solid staves240 V (brand recommends 7.5 kW heater; current depends on heater)5 years30 days
Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Tranquility (CTC2345W)$6,483Heater sold separately (electric or wood)6Not statedEastern White Cedar (Grade A), solid staves240 V (brand recommends 7.5 kW heater; current depends on heater)5 years30 days
SaunaLife Ergo Series Model E7$5,190Electric heater, sold separately4Not statedThermo-Spruce staves 1.65 in240 V (depends on heater; Harvia KIP 6 kW is 240 V)2 years30 days
Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Harmony (CTC22W)$5,946Heater sold separately (electric or wood)4Not statedEastern White Cedar (Grade A), solid staves240 V (brand recommends 6 kW heater; current depends on heater)5 years30 days
Almost Heaven Pinnacle 4 Person Barrel Sauna$6,060Electric heater4Not statedRed cedar (North American), 1 3/8 in ball-and-socket240 V / 30 A hard-wired (6 kW heater)Limited lifetime30 days
Redwood Outdoors Barrel Outdoor Sauna - 6 Person$6,299Electric heater4–6Not statedThermally modified hemlock (heat-treated)240 V heater (Harvia KIP 6 kW, 30 A), 120 V lighting1 year30 days
Almost Heaven Salem 2 Person Barrel Sauna$4,036.50Electric heater2Not statedRed cedar (North American), 1 3/8 in ball-and-socket240 V / 30 A hard-wired (6 kW heater)Limited lifetime30 days
Redwood Outdoors Extra-Wide Outdoor Barrel Sauna - 6 Person$7,885Electric heater4–6Not statedCanadian Thermowood240 V heater, 120 V lighting1 year30 days
Aleko Liatris Rustic Cedar Barrel Sauna with Front Porch Canopy, 5-6 Person (SB6CED-AP)$6,699Electric heater (6 kW Harvia KIP)5–6194°FRustic cedar, ≈1.2 in (30 mm)220–240 V, installed by a professional electrician1 year30 days

Which barrel sauna to buy

We track 9 barrel saunas. Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Serenity (CTC2245W) has the highest score, 9.25/10, tied with 2 other models. 6 use an electric heater and 3 can take an electric heater or a wood stove. Prices run $4,036.50 to $7,885, checked Oct 8, 2026.

The Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Serenity is the barrel I'd shortlist first: $6,127, Eastern White Cedar, seats 5, 5-year warranty, and Dundalk's manuals cover both an electric heater and a wood stove (neither is included). For two people, the Almost Heaven Salem 2 Person Barrel Sauna costs $4,036.50 with a 6 kW heater in the box and a lifetime warranty against defects, but no roof.

Across the 9 barrels here, prices run $4,036.50 to $7,885 and warranties from 1 year to lifetime. 4 of them come without a heater.

Best barrel overall
Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Serenity5 seats on 20-inch benches, canopy over the door, 5-year warranty. Budget for a heater (Dundalk recommends 7.5 kW) and remember the dealer sets the return terms.
Best for two
Almost Heaven Salem 2 Person Barrel SaunaThe cheapest barrel here and the only true two-seater, red cedar staves, heater included. It needs 30 A at 240 V, hard-wired, and ships without a roof.
Best with a wood stove
Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber HarmonyThe cheapest Dundalk barrel, four seats, and its manual has wood-stove installation with the chimney out the top or the back wall.
Most seats for the money
Redwood Outdoors Barrel Outdoor Sauna - 6 PersonSeats 4–6, 6 kW Harvia heater and asphalt shingles included. The warranty is the shortest here: 1-year, original buyer only.

What size barrel do you need?

Seat counts are generous. Dundalk says the Serenity "Comfortably Seats 5 People," while its dealer lists it for 4, and Redwood Outdoors names its barrels "6 Person" while listing them for 4–6. Compare the inside dimensions instead:

Barrel sizes from brand and dealer pages; "seats" is the brand's own figure.
BarrelSeatsSizeHeaterPrice
Almost Heaven Salem 2 Person Barrel Sauna275.25 × 39.25 × 69.25 in6 kW included$4,036.50
SaunaLife Ergo Series Model E74Diameter 81 in × length 71 inSold separately$5,190
Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Harmony471 × 83 × 79 in6 kW recommended$5,946
Almost Heaven Pinnacle 4 Person Barrel Sauna475.25 × 63.25 × 69.25 in6 kW included$6,060
Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Serenity571 × 83 × 79 in7.5 kW recommended$6,127
Redwood Outdoors Barrel Outdoor Sauna - 6 Person4–671 × 72.75 × 76.5 in outside6 kW included$6,299
Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Tranquility694.75 × 83 × 79 in7.5 kW recommended$6,483
Aleko Liatris Rustic Cedar Barrel Sauna with Front Porch Canopy, 5-6 Person5–670 × 70 × 70 in6 kW included$6,699
Redwood Outdoors Extra-Wide Outdoor Barrel Sauna - 6 Person4–671.75 × 84.75 × 88.5 in outsideElectric heater$7,885

Owners notice. A Redwood Outdoors buyer wrote:

"Great little sauna, but this 6 person whiskey barrel sauna is indeed “little” and tough to accommodate 6 people." 4-star review, Jul 2026, redwoodoutdoors.com

The two-seat Salem gets the opposite verdict. On almostheaven.com, 3 reviews say two adults fit comfortably inside, including an owner who is 6'2". (almostheaven.com)

One oddity: Dundalk lists the same interior for the Harmony and the Serenity, yet rates one for 4 and the other for 5; the Serenity's extra length outside is its canopy. Inside length tells you how many can sit side by side; height matters if you're tall: the SaunaLife E7 lists interior height 6 ft 5 in.

Barrel or cabin?

A barrel puts its volume where you sit. The Harmony barrel has 222 cubic feet inside for four people; Dundalk's Georgian cabin has 343 for six. Dundalk recommends a 6 kW heater for the Harmony and 9 kW for the Georgian.

The round shape also sheds weather: Redwood Outdoors says rain and snow "typically slide right off." But a barrel without a roof still lets water in at the staves. Almost Heaven's barrel manual says seepage "will NOT harm the sauna" and points you to a shelter or its rain jacket if you want it dry. A cabin gives you a flat floor, a full-height door and room for a changing area. All cabins and cubes are on the outdoor sauna comparison, and indoor and portable saunas are in our home sauna guide.

Cedar or thermowood

Two families of wood cover all 9 barrels. Cedar: Eastern White Cedar on the 3 Dundalk barrels, North American red cedar on Almost Heaven's, rustic cedar on the Aleko Liatris. Heat-treated wood: hemlock and Canadian Thermowood at Redwood Outdoors, thermo-spruce at SaunaLife.

No brand promises a service life by species, so look at what the warranty does about weather. Almost Heaven's lifetime warranty excludes "normal weathering"; Aleko's policy says it "does not cover any weather damages," naming rain, sun and snow; SaunaLife's two years exclude changes "due to natural aging and weathering." Whichever wood you choose, weathering is yours to manage.

Heater: electric or wood-fired

5 barrels come with an electric heater: Redwood Outdoors, Almost Heaven and Aleko. Each needs a 240 V circuit; Redwood and Almost Heaven list 30 A for their 6 kW heaters. Almost Heaven wires its heater in permanently (hard-wired), so plan the electrician into the cost.

Only Dundalk's barrels list a wood stove option in our data: the Harmony, Serenity and Tranquility. Their manuals include wood-heater installation and Dundalk sells chimney kits. Almost Heaven allows wood heaters with "large diameter barrel saunas," but the Salem and Pinnacle pages list electric heaters only; Redwood's barrels are electric only. A wood stove frees you from the 240 V run and adds a chimney and clearances instead.

What a barrel sauna costs

The sticker runs $4,036.50 to $7,885, and the sticker isn't the same thing on every model.

  • Heater: included with Redwood Outdoors, Almost Heaven and Aleko; extra with Dundalk LeisureCraft and SaunaLife.
  • Shipping: free from Dundalk's dealer and from Aleko; SaunaLife's dealer adds $950; confirm the rest at checkout.
  • Roof: shingles included at Redwood Outdoors and SaunaLife; none on Almost Heaven's barrels.
  • Install: an electrician for 240 V models, and a level base (pavers, gravel, a deck or a pad, depending on the brand).

So the cheapest complete setup isn't always the lowest price. The Salem at $4,036.50 includes its heater; the E7 at $5,190 needs a heater and $950 of freight on top.

Do you need a permit?

Maybe, and the sauna maker can't tell you. The rules belong to your town and, if you have one, your HOA; size, the electrical hookup and a wood stove are the usual triggers. A phone call to the building department before you order costs nothing. More on site prep on the outdoor sauna guide.

Questions people ask

What is the ideal size for a sauna?

For two people, a two-seat barrel like the Almost Heaven Salem 2 Person Barrel Sauna. For a family, a barrel rated 4–6 seats realistically fits four adults. Compare interior dimensions in the table, not the seat count.

Is a barrel sauna a good investment?

It's a $4,036.50-plus purchase with costs on top: a heater on 4 of 9 models, an electrician and a base. Warranties run from 1 year to lifetime and mostly exclude weathering. Buy it for use, not for resale value.

What is the typical price range for an outdoor barrel sauna?

Here, $4,036.50 to $7,885, prices checked on brand and dealer sites. Check what's included: heater, roof and shipping vary by brand.

Do you need a permit for a backyard barrel sauna?

It depends on your town and HOA, not on the sauna. Ask your local building department before ordering, especially for a wood stove.

How we picked

Every sauna gets 1.5 to 2 points on each of 5 criteria: Heat figures, published specs, price per person, warranty and returns and owner reviews. The score out of 10 is the sum, from 7.5 to 10. Prices were checked on Oct 8, 2026. Read the full method.

Affiliate links