
Best outdoor saunas
25 outdoor saunas compared on heat, max temp, wood and power. Our top pick is the Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Serenity (CTC2245W), $6,127. Read the full summary ↓
All 25 outdoor saunas
25 of 25 outdoor saunas

Canadian Timber Tranquility (CTC2345W)

Canadian Timber Luna (CTC22LU)

Canadian Timber Georgian Cabin (CTC88W)


Ergo Series Model E7

Canadian Timber Harmony (CTC22W)


Pinnacle 4 Person Barrel Sauna

Canadian Timber Granby Cabin Sauna CTC66W

Barrel Outdoor Sauna - 6 Person

Garden Series Model G3

Cabin Outdoor Sauna - 4 Person

Salem 2 Person Barrel Sauna

Extra-Wide Outdoor Barrel Sauna - 6 Person



Blackwater 4 Person Cube Sauna

Arlberg 3 Person Traditional Outdoor Sauna (GDI-8103-01)

Solide Compact 4-6 Person Cabin Sauna

Alpina Outdoor Sauna (Heritage Collection)


Sanctuary Outdoor 2 Infrared Sauna

Sanctuary Outdoor 5 Infrared Sauna
Trinity FD-9 Outdoor Combination Sauna (SKU FD-KN005)

Canadian Timber Serenity (CTC2245W)

Canadian Timber Tranquility (CTC2345W)

Canadian Timber Luna (CTC22LU)

Canadian Timber Georgian Cabin (CTC88W)



Canadian Timber Harmony (CTC22W)



Canadian Timber Granby Cabin Sauna CTC66W

Barrel Outdoor Sauna - 6 Person


Cabin Outdoor Sauna - 4 Person


Extra-Wide Outdoor Barrel Sauna - 6 Person



Blackwater 4 Person Cube Sauna

Arlberg 3 Person Traditional Outdoor Sauna (GDI-8103-01)

Solide Compact 4-6 Person Cabin Sauna

Alpina Outdoor Sauna (Heritage Collection)


Sanctuary Outdoor 2 Infrared Sauna

Sanctuary Outdoor 5 Infrared Sauna
Trinity FD-9 Outdoor Combination Sauna (SKU FD-KN005)
Filters
All outdoor saunas compared
| Model | Price | Heat | Seats | Max temp | Wood | Power | Warranty | Returns |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Serenity (CTC2245W) | $6,127 | Heater sold separately (electric or wood) | 5 | Not stated | Eastern White Cedar (Grade A), solid staves | 240 V (brand recommends 7.5 kW heater; current depends on heater) | 5 years | 30 days |
| Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Tranquility (CTC2345W) | $6,483 | Heater sold separately (electric or wood) | 6 | Not stated | Eastern White Cedar (Grade A), solid staves | 240 V (brand recommends 7.5 kW heater; current depends on heater) | 5 years | 30 days |
| Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Luna (CTC22LU) | $7,361 | Electric heater, sold separately (no wood stove per brand) | 4 | Not stated | Eastern White Cedar | 240 V (brand recommends 6 kW heater; current depends on heater) | 5 years | 30 days |
| Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Georgian Cabin (CTC88W) | $7,616 | Heater sold separately (electric or wood) | 6 | Not stated | Eastern White Cedar (Grade A), dovetail corners | 240 V (brand recommends 9 kW heater; current depends on heater) | 5 years | 30 days |
| Sun Home Luminar 5 (Outdoor Full-Spectrum Infrared) | $13,899 | Full spectrum + far infrared | 5 | 170°F | Interior Canadian red cedar | 240 V / 7,200 W / 30 A, dedicated line with GFCI, NEMA L6-30P | 1 year | 30 days |
| SaunaLife Ergo Series Model E7 | $5,190 | Electric heater, sold separately | 4 | Not stated | Thermo-Spruce staves 1.65 in | 240 V (depends on heater; Harvia KIP 6 kW is 240 V) | 2 years | 30 days |
| Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Harmony (CTC22W) | $5,946 | Heater sold separately (electric or wood) | 4 | Not stated | Eastern White Cedar (Grade A), solid staves | 240 V (brand recommends 6 kW heater; current depends on heater) | 5 years | 30 days |
| SaunaLife Cube CL5G 4-Person Outdoor Cube Sauna | $5,990 | Electric heater (sold separately) | 4 | Not stated | Thermo-Spruce 1.65 in / 1.1 in | Depends on heater | Not stated | 30 days |
| Almost Heaven Pinnacle 4 Person Barrel Sauna | $6,060 | Electric heater | 4 | Not stated | Red cedar (North American), 1 3/8 in ball-and-socket | 240 V / 30 A hard-wired (6 kW heater) | Limited lifetime | 30 days |
| Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Granby Cabin Sauna CTC66W | $6,106 | Electric heater (sold separately) | 3 | Not stated | Premium Grade A Eastern White Cedar | 240 V, 30-50 A depending on heater | 5 years | 30 days |
| Redwood Outdoors Barrel Outdoor Sauna - 6 Person | $6,299 | Electric heater | 4–6 | Not stated | Thermally modified hemlock (heat-treated) | 240 V heater (Harvia KIP 6 kW, 30 A), 120 V lighting | 1 year | 30 days |
| SaunaLife Garden Series Model G3 | $6,990 | Electric heater, sold separately | 6 | Not stated | Thermo-Pine staves 1.65 in | Depends on heater | 2 years | 30 days |
| Redwood Outdoors Cabin Outdoor Sauna - 4 Person | $7,299 | Electric heater | 4 | Not stated | Canadian Thermowood | 240 V heater, 120 V lighting | 1 year | 30 days |
| Almost Heaven Salem 2 Person Barrel Sauna | $4,036.50 | Electric heater | 2 | Not stated | Red cedar (North American), 1 3/8 in ball-and-socket | 240 V / 30 A hard-wired (6 kW heater) | Limited lifetime | 30 days |
| Redwood Outdoors Extra-Wide Outdoor Barrel Sauna - 6 Person | $7,885 | Electric heater | 4–6 | Not stated | Canadian Thermowood | 240 V heater, 120 V lighting | 1 year | 30 days |
| Aleko Thermowood Wet Dry Outdoor Sauna with Asphalt Roof, 6 kW, 5 Person (SKD5HEM-AP) | $4,699 | Electric heater (6 kW Harvia KIP) | 5 | 194°F | Thermowood | 220–240 V | 1 year | 30 days |
| Aleko Liatris Rustic Cedar Barrel Sauna with Front Porch Canopy, 5-6 Person (SB6CED-AP) | $6,699 | Electric heater (6 kW Harvia KIP) | 5–6 | 194°F | Rustic cedar, ≈1.2 in (30 mm) | 220–240 V, installed by a professional electrician | 1 year | 30 days |
| Almost Heaven Blackwater 4 Person Cube Sauna | $11,268 | Electric heater | 4–6 | Not stated | Cedar, 1 3/8 in ball-and-socket | 240 V / 45 A hard-wired (9 kW heater) | Limited lifetime | 30 days |
| Golden Designs Arlberg 3 Person Traditional Outdoor Sauna (GDI-8103-01) | $7,999 | Electric heater | 3 | 190°F | Canadian Hemlock, water-repellent exterior finish | 240 V / 40 A (heater), 120 V / 15 A (lights, music) | Not stated | 30 days |
| Almost Heaven Solide Compact 4-6 Person Cabin Sauna | $14,233 | Electric heater | 4–6 | Not stated | Thick Nordic spruce timber | 240 V heater, 8 kW | Limited lifetime | 30 days |
| Almost Heaven Alpina Outdoor Sauna (Heritage Collection) | $39,735 | Electric heater, Harvia 10.5 kW Virta Smart with Fenix control (included) | 3-5 | Not stated | Nordic spruce: rhomboid cladding outside, spruce walls inside | 10.5 kW heater, 240 V | Limited lifetime | 30 days |
| Auroom Arti Pre-Assembled 5-Person Sauna Cabin | $43,990 | Electric heater (sold separately) | 5 | Not stated | Thermo-Spruce exterior | Depends on heater | Not stated | 30 days |
| Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor 2 Infrared Sauna | Price on request | Full spectrum + far infrared (True Wave) | 2 | Not stated | Mahogany interior | 240 V / 2,320 W / 9.7 A, NEMA 6-15P | Lifetime | 30 days |
| Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor 5 Infrared Sauna | Price on request | Full spectrum + far infrared (True Wave) | 4–5 | Not stated | Mahogany interior | 240 V / 3,600 W / 15 A, NEMA 6-20P | Lifetime | 30 days |
| Finnmark Designs Trinity FD-9 Outdoor Combination Sauna (SKU FD-KN005) | Price on request | Hybrid: infrared + electric stove | 2 | Not stated | Interior Canadian red cedar Clear "A" | Infrared 1,750 W, 120 V / 15 A, NEMA 5-15P | 20 years | 30 days |
Which outdoor sauna to buy
We track 25 outdoor saunas. Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Serenity (CTC2245W) has the highest score, 9.25/10, tied with 7 other models. 14 use an electric heater, 7 can take an electric heater or a wood stove, 3 are infrared and 1 combines infrared and an electric stove. Prices run $4,036.50 to $43,990, checked Oct 8, 2026. 3 models are price on request.
My pick for most backyards is the Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Serenity: $6,127 for a cedar barrel that seats 5, a 5-year warranty, and a choice of electric heater or wood stove. The heater isn't in that price, which is true of 10 of the 25 saunas here. The cheapest is the Almost Heaven Salem 2 Person Barrel Sauna at $4,036.50 for two people, heater included.
Before you choose a model, check two things: 22 of these saunas need a 240 V supply, and 13 arrive by freight at the curb, where unloading is your job.
Barrels have their own page, with sizes and heaters compared: best barrel saunas; so do cubes and cabins: cube and cabin saunas. Still choosing between the backyard, an indoor cabin and a portable sauna? Our home sauna guide puts them side by side.
Before you buy: power, base, permit, delivery
Power
22 of the 25 saunas list a 240 V supply. The Almost Heaven Salem's 6 kW heater needs 30 A, hard-wired; the 9 kW Blackwater cube needs 45 A. Dundalk gives 30 to 50 A, depending on the heater you pick, and its warranty is void if a licensed electrician doesn't make the connections. The Luminar 5 needs its own 30 A line too. The exception is the Finnmark Designs Trinity FD-9 Outdoor Combination Sauna, which runs on 120 V household circuits. Get an electrician's quote for the run to your yard before you order.
Heater
10 of these prices don't include a heater: Dundalk LeisureCraft, SaunaLife and Auroom. Add a heater, stones and, for wood stoves, a chimney kit to the price you compare.
Base
No brand here insists on a concrete pad, but they disagree about bare ground. Redwood Outdoors calls a deck or a concrete pad "both excellent options," wants a pad at least 4 inches thick with mesh, and says: "We never recommend putting a sauna right on top of dirt or grass." Almost Heaven's barrel manual allows ground placement if the cradles sit "on paver stones or something similar." Dundalk wants the base level "with a slight slope to the back for drainage," and Sun Home recommends "an elevated concrete or wood base" so water never pools. A loaded sauna is heavy: Redwood puts it at "over 1000 lbs."
Permit
None of the brand pages and manuals I read mention permits or HOAs; Almost Heaven's manuals only point you to your local building codes. Rules depend on your city, county and HOA, and can turn on size, wiring and wood stoves. Call your local building department before you buy, not after delivery.
Delivery and returns
Expect a truck at the curb, not a delivery to your yard. Dundalk's shipping sheet says the trucking company "is NOT responsible for unloading the sauna"; Almost Heaven says to "plan for at least two people." Returns get expensive: 15 models list a restocking fee, several also keep freight both ways, and Almost Heaven won't take back an assembled sauna. SaunaLife models add $950 shipping through their dealer.
Roof and weather
Check the roof before the price. Almost Heaven's Salem and Pinnacle barrels ship without one, and the manual says to expect some water seepage through the staves. It suggests "a shelter or structure with a roof" or the brand's rain jacket if you want it fully dry. Redwood Outdoors and SaunaLife include asphalt shingles; the Georgian and the Blackwater have metal roofs.
Stain is mostly a choice. Almost Heaven "strongly advise[s] applying a stain"; Redwood calls treating the exterior "optional"; Dundalk says untreated cedar turns gray without harm. Sun Home is the strict one: its outdoor infrared saunas need the included cover "at all times" if they sit unprotected, and are rated for "about a foot of snow only" (Sun Home).
Wood and warranty, brand by brand
Brands don't publish lifespans by wood, so the fair comparison is what each one uses and what its warranty actually covers.
| Brand | Wood | Warranty, and the catch |
|---|---|---|
| Dundalk LeisureCraft | Eastern White Cedar (Grade A), solid staves; 20 in benches | 5 years, defects in materials and workmanship; electrical work by a licensed electrician or it's void |
| Almost Heaven | Red cedar (North American), 1 3/8 in ball-and-socket | Lifetime against manufacturing defects; excludes "normal weathering"; heaters 1 year on elements, 5 on other parts |
| Redwood Outdoors | Thermally modified hemlock (heat-treated); Canadian Thermowood | 1 year, original buyer only; labor not covered |
| SaunaLife | Thermo-Spruce staves 1.65 in; Thermo-Aspen benches and backrests 1.1 in | 2 years residential per the warranty PDF, though product pages say "limited lifetime"; weathering not covered |
| Aleko | Rustic cedar, ≈1.2 in (30 mm) or thermowood | 1 year; "does not cover any weather damages," including rain, sun and snow |
| Sun Home | Interior Canadian red cedar; aluminum exterior, stainless steel roof | 1 year for Luminar per the warranty page (product page: lifetime); void without the cover in rain or snow |
Read every "lifetime" closely. Almost Heaven's covers manufacturing defects, not weather. And one warning: the Golden Designs Arlberg 3 Person Traditional Outdoor Sauna warranty text I could find (a search snippet; the brand page didn't load) says outdoor use voids it. It may be the text for Golden Designs' indoor models, but get it in writing before you buy.
Electric, wood-burning or infrared
7 saunas here take a wood stove as well as an electric heater, mostly Dundalk's barrels and cabins, whose manuals include wood-stove installation (the Luna is electric only). Almost Heaven allows wood heaters with its "cabins, cubes, and large diameter barrel saunas," and lists a Harvia wood stove kit for the Blackwater; the Salem and Pinnacle pages list electric heaters. Redwood's three models are electric only. A wood stove skips the 240 V line but adds a chimney and clearances, and it can change the permit question. Stoves and their US listings are compared on wood-burning sauna stoves.
4 models are infrared rather than heater-and-stones: Sun Home Luminar 5, Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor 2 Infrared Sauna, Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor 5 Infrared Sauna and Finnmark Designs Trinity FD-9 Outdoor Combination Sauna. They run cooler (the Luminar tops out at 170°F) and Sun Home says its outdoor heaters struggle at 40°F and below. If you're after infrared with red light panels, see red light saunas.
What owners say about assembly and delivery
Owner reviews of outdoor saunas are thin. I found them for 4 models here, all on the brands' own sites and 19 to 22 reviews each, and at most one for the other 21, including every Dundalk and Aleko. What the reviews that exist agree on is the build:
- On redwoodoutdoors.com, 9 barrel reviews say the kit was easy to assemble; one couple reports building it in about 5 hours, roofing included. (redwoodoutdoors.com)
- On redwoodoutdoors.com, 5 reviews praise customer support for answering questions before and after the build. (redwoodoutdoors.com)
- On redwoodoutdoors.com, 5 cabin reviews call assembly easy or straightforward; one owner built it alone in about a day and a half. (redwoodoutdoors.com)
- On redwoodoutdoors.com, 3 reviews describe a harder job: unclear pictures in the manual, a build that took two contractors a full day, and heater wiring that kept an electrician busy for 8 hours. (redwoodoutdoors.com)
- On almostheaven.com, 5 Salem reviews call assembly easy, smooth or straightforward; one owner reports a 4 to 6 hour build with three people. (almostheaven.com)
- On almostheaven.com, 6 Pinnacle reviews say assembly was easy, with owners reporting a build of a few hours to one day. (almostheaven.com)
- On almostheaven.com, 3 reviews mention problems on arrival: warped staves or boards (extra staves were included), a missing door handle, and a first delivery that arrived damaged. (almostheaven.com)
Take these as a sample, not a verdict: two dozen brand-hosted reviews can't show how a sauna holds up over several winters.
How long does an outdoor sauna last?
I didn't find a lifespan figure that any brand puts in writing. The warranty is the only number on paper, and here it runs from 1 year (Redwood Outdoors, Sun Home and Aleko) to lifetime (Almost Heaven and Clearlight). Most split the sauna from the heater, and most exclude weathering, so the wood's long-term look is on you. Setup affects coverage too: Redwood excludes failure "to properly install the Product."
Is an outdoor sauna worth it?
Price it as a project, not a product. Prices here run $4,036.50 to $43,990, before freight on some models. Then add what the price leaves out: a heater on 10 models, an electrician for the 240 V run, a level base, a roof or cover on some barrels, and your time to assemble. If you have the space and the power and you'll use it through the year, those costs are known up front. If the wiring or the permit is uncertain, settle those first; they decide which models are even possible.
Questions people ask
Is it worth getting an outdoor sauna?
Price the whole project: the sauna ($4,036.50 and up here), a heater if it isn't included, a 240 V circuit, a level base and freight. If those fit your yard and budget, the cost is known before you start.
What is the best outdoor sauna for home use?
On our scoring, the Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Serenity ($6,127, seats 5, 5-year warranty). For two people on a budget, the Almost Heaven Salem 2 Person Barrel Sauna at $4,036.50, with a roof or cover added.
Can a sauna be placed outside?
Only one sold as an outdoor model. Indoor saunas aren't built for rain and snow, and some warranties say outdoor use voids them. Even outdoor models differ: some barrels have no roof, and Sun Home requires its cover.
Do you need a permit for a backyard sauna?
It depends on where you live: rules vary by city, county and HOA, and often hinge on size, electrical work and wood stoves. The brands themselves only point you to local building codes.
What is the average lifespan of an outdoor sauna?
No brand here publishes one. Warranties are the only written figure, from 1 year to lifetime, and most exclude weathering.
How we picked
Every sauna gets 1.5 to 2 points on each of 5 criteria: Heat figures, published specs, price per person, warranty and returns and owner reviews. The score out of 10 is the sum, from 7.5 to 10. Prices were checked on Oct 8, 2026. Read the full method.


















