
Best electric sauna heaters
12 sauna heaters compared on kW, room size, US listing and power. Our top pick is the Harvia Spirit SP60E 6 kW, $1,715. Read the full summary ↓
All 12 sauna heaters
12 of 12 sauna heaters


Cilindro Half PC80E 8 kW

DROP 6 kW

Virta HL90E 9 kW

HIVE Mini 9 kW

CLIFF 6 kW

Ultra Electric Medium 6 kW

Revive Slim 6 kW

Air 7 (stainless steel)

Revive 6 kW with TKE2-2 controller













Filters
All sauna heaters compared
| Model | Price | kW | Room size | US listing | Power | Weight | Warranty | Returns |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harvia Spirit SP60E 6 kW | $1,715 | 6 kW | 177–294 cu ft | UL 875 | 240 V, single phase, 50/60 Hz | 28.8 lb | 2 years | 30 days |
| Harvia KIP60B 6 kW (KIP with built-in controls) | $1,195 | 6 kW | 169–300 cu ft | UL 875 | 240 V, single phase, 60 Hz | 30.8 lb | 2 years | 30 days |
| Harvia Cilindro Half PC80E 8 kW | $1,270 | 8 kW | 141–431 cu ft | UL 875 | 240 V, single phase | 37.5 lb | 2 years | 30 days |
| HUUM DROP 6 kW | $1,506 | 6 kW | 177–318 cu ft | Other mark, no UL 875 | 240 V, single phase | 24.3 lb | 3 years | 30 days |
| Harvia Virta HL90E 9 kW | $2,143 | 9 kW | 177–494 cu ft | UL 875 | 240 V, single phase, 60 Hz | 50.7 lb | 2 years | 30 days |
| HUUM HIVE Mini 9 kW | $2,657 | 9 kW | 283–460 cu ft | Other mark, no UL 875 | 240 V, single phase, 60 Hz | 39.7 lb | 3 years | 30 days |
| HUUM CLIFF 6 kW | $2,347 | 6 kW | 177–318 cu ft | Other mark, no UL 875 | 240 V, single phase | 35.2 lb | 3 years | 30 days |
| Scandia Ultra Electric Medium 6 kW | $1,825 | 6 kW | up to 294 cu ft | Not found | 240 V, single phase: 6 kW, 25 A | Not stated | 10 years | 30 days |
| Homecraft Revive Slim 6 kW | $1,860 | 6 kW | 200–325 cu ft | Other mark, no UL 875 | 6 kW | Not stated | Not stated | 30 days |
| Saunum Air 7 (stainless steel) | $3,095 | 6.9 kW | 177–282 cu ft | Other mark, no UL 875 | 240 V, single phase | 115 lb | Not stated | 30 days |
| Homecraft Revive 6 kW with TKE2-2 controller | $3,026 | 6 kW | 250–300 cu ft | UL 875 | 6 kW | Not stated | 2 years | 30 days |
| Finnleo Himalaya 7 kW with SaunaLogic 2.0 (dealer sells it as Helo Himalaya) | $5,322 | 7 kW | Not stated | Not found | 6.8 or 9.0 kW | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Which electric sauna heater to buy
We track 12 sauna heaters. Harvia Spirit SP60E 6 kW has the highest score, 9.5/10. Prices run $1,195 to $5,322, checked Oct 8, 2026.
Pick an electric sauna heater on three things: power for your room's volume, the circuit you can run to it, and a US safety listing, which is what an inspector will look for. 5 of the 12 heaters here are listed to UL 875, according to the seller; the HUUM heaters carry a different mark.
Compare full prices, too: 7 of the 12 need a controller that's sold separately. My picks: the Harvia KIP60B 6 kW ($1,195, controls built in), the Harvia Spirit SP60E 6 kW ($1,715) for a modern look, and the Harvia Virta HL90E 9 kW ($2,143) for a big room.
I compared 12 heaters from $1,195 to $5,322, at Topture and West Coast Saunas. I only pick heaters that a seller lists to UL 875; the rest are in the tables.
What the inspector will ask: UL 875 and ETL
| Heater | Listing stated | kW | Room size | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harvia Spirit SP60E 6 kW | ETL listed, conforms to UL 875 (Topture, part HSPE60U1MUL); harvia.com lists CE, EAC, UL 875 | 6 | 177–294 cu ft | $1,715 |
| Harvia KIP60B 6 kW | c-UL-us listed, conforms to UL 875 (Topture, part JH60BU1UL); harvia.com lists UL, CE, EAC for JC60B2401; West Coast Saunas says ETL | 6 | 169–300 cu ft | $1,195 |
| Harvia Cilindro Half PC80E 8 kW | ETL listed, conforms to UL 875 (Topture, part HPCS8U1HUL); harvia.com lists ETL for the built-in-controls version HPCS8U1HBUL | 8 | 141–431 cu ft | $1,270 |
| Harvia Virta HL90E 9 kW | ETL (harvia.com, part HL9U1UL); Topture: ETL listed, conforms to UL 875 | 9 | 177–494 cu ft | $2,143 |
| Homecraft Revive 6 kW with TKE2-2 controller | 'CSA & UL 875 approved' (West Coast Saunas page); manufacturer's certificate not opened | 6 | 250–300 cu ft | $3,026 |
| HUUM DROP 6 kW | SGS listed to UL 60335-1 and CAN/CSA-C22.2 No. 60335-1 (per Topture); not UL 875 or ETL | 6 | 177–318 cu ft | $1,506 |
| HUUM HIVE Mini 9 kW | SGS listed to UL 60335-1 and CAN/CSA-C22.2 No. 60335-1 (per Topture); not UL 875 or ETL | 9 | 283–460 cu ft | $2,657 |
| HUUM CLIFF 6 kW | SGS listed to UL 60335-1 and CAN/CSA-C22.2 No. 60335-1 (per Topture); not UL 875 or ETL | 6 | 177–318 cu ft | $2,347 |
| Homecraft Revive Slim 6 kW | ETL Listed, to CSA and UL standards (West Coast Saunas page); no UL standard number named | 6 | 200–325 cu ft | $1,860 |
| Saunum Air 7 | Topture page says 'UL Rated, CE Rated, ETL Rated' with no standard named; listing to be verified | 6.9 | 177–282 cu ft | $3,095 |
| Scandia Ultra Electric Medium 6 kW | No UL or ETL listing stated on the dealer page; to be checked on the Scandia site | 6 | up to 294 cu ft | $1,825 |
| Finnleo Himalaya 7 kW with SaunaLogic 2.0 | No UL or ETL listing found on brand or dealer pages; to be rechecked | 7 | not stated | $5,322 |
Sellers word the listing differently: "c-UL-us listed, conforms to UL 875" for the KIP, "ETL listed, conforms to UL 875" for the other Harvia heaters. By the sellers' pages, all four Harvia models are listed to UL 875, and the dealer says the same for the Homecraft Revive, though I couldn't open the manufacturer's certificate. HUUM's heaters are listed by SGS to UL 60335-1, a general appliance standard, not UL 875. Saunum's page says "UL Rated, CE Rated, ETL Rated" without naming a standard, and I found no listing for the Finnleo Himalaya or the Scandia Ultra on the pages I checked.
I'm not in a position to tell you which listing your inspector will accept. Ask your local building department before you buy, and have a licensed electrician do the wiring.
The real price: heater, controller and stones
| Heater | Price | Controller | Stones |
|---|---|---|---|
| Harvia Spirit SP60E 6 kW | $1,715 | Extra | Extra (110 lb needed) |
| Harvia KIP60B 6 kW | $1,195 | Included | Not stated |
| Harvia Cilindro Half PC80E 8 kW | $1,270 | Extra | Extra (200 lb needed) |
| HUUM DROP 6 kW | $1,506 | Extra | Extra (121 lb needed) |
| Harvia Virta HL90E 9 kW | $2,143 | Extra | Extra (110 lb needed) |
| HUUM HIVE Mini 9 kW | $2,657 | Extra | Extra (330 lb needed) |
| HUUM CLIFF 6 kW | $2,347 | Extra | Extra (165 lb needed) |
| Scandia Ultra Electric Medium 6 kW | $1,825 | Not stated | Included |
| Homecraft Revive Slim 6 kW | $1,860 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Saunum Air 7 | $3,095 | Extra | Extra (130 lb needed) |
| Homecraft Revive 6 kW with TKE2-2 controller | $3,026 | Included | Extra (200 lb needed) |
| Finnleo Himalaya 7 kW with SaunaLogic 2.0 | $5,322 | Included | Included |
A dealer's heater price is often the heater alone. HUUM's 9 kW Hive Mini is $2,657 on its own; the UKU controller and the stones are sold separately. Homecraft includes its controller but charges $350 for rocks. The Harvia KIP and the Finnleo bundle are the exceptions with controls in the price. Compare heaters at the same completeness.
Dealer prices vary
The same heater can cost very different amounts at different dealers. Topture lists the Harvia KIP60B at $1,195. Prices here carry the dealer name and the date I checked, and Topture's return terms are strict: 30 days with written authorization, a restocking fee of at least 25%, and freight both ways at your cost (policy).
Heater size and wiring
Each heater is rated for a range of room volumes, so measure the room's length × width × height in feet first. The 6 kW heaters here are rated for 169–325 cu ft depending on the model; the 8–9 kW ones go up to 494 cu ft. Every heater with a stated voltage runs on 240 V, and several offer a 208 V option at lower output. Check with a licensed electrician; the wire gauge and breaker come from the manual, not from a dealer's summary.
Building the room yourself? Start with our DIY sauna guide and sauna kits. Want wood heat instead? See wood-burning sauna stoves.
Are saunas expensive to run?
Simple arithmetic: a heater at full power uses at most its rating per hour, so a 6 kW heater uses up to 6 kWh in an hour, less once the thermostat starts cycling. Multiply by your electric rate. Harvia and HUUM put heat-up at about an hour, which is when it runs flat out. More on running costs on what a home sauna costs.
Dry or wet: can you pour water on it?
Yes, on all 12: every heater here is rated for dry and wet use. The Finnleo Himalaya adds a built-in water tank for steam, and Homecraft says the Revive is designed for heavy water use on the stones.
Questions people ask
Who makes the best electric sauna heater?
On published data, Harvia: four of its heaters are listed to UL 875 by the dealer, and the KIP is the cheapest heater here. HUUM gives a longer warranty, 3 years for home use, but carries a different safety listing.
Are saunas expensive to run?
A heater uses at most its rating per hour at full power: 6 kWh for a 6 kW heater. Multiply by your electric rate.
What is the best temperature for a sauna?
Studies typically used 80–90°C (176–194°F) for 5 to 20 minutes (Kukkonen-Harjula, 2006). For people with stable heart disease, a Brown University Health cardiologist advises staying at or below 212°F and 20 minutes (Brown Health). Most controllers here top out at 194°F.
Do I need a separate controller?
For 7 of the 12 heaters here, yes. The Harvia KIP has its controls on the heater; the Homecraft Revive and the Finnleo Himalaya bundle include one.
How we picked
Every heater gets 1.5 to 2 points on each of 5 criteria: Heat figures, published specs, price, warranty and returns and owner reviews. The score out of 10 is the sum, from 7.5 to 10. Owner reviews not summarized yet, so every model gets 1.75 of 2 points there for now. Prices were checked on Oct 8, 2026. Read the full method.


















