
Best outdoor infrared saunas
11 outdoor infrared saunas compared on heat, max temp, wood and power. Our top pick is the Sun Home Luminar 5 (Outdoor Full-Spectrum Infrared), $13,899. Read the full summary ↓
All 11 outdoor infrared saunas
11 of 11 outdoor infrared saunas

Arki Outdoor Duo

Carinthia 3 Person Hybrid (GDI-8123-01)

Gargellen 5 Person Hybrid (GDI-8125-01)

Nora 2 Person Hybrid (GDI-8222-01)

Nature 5 Outdoor Infrared Sauna

Nature 6 Outdoor Infrared Sauna

Nature 4 Outdoor Infrared Sauna

Sanctuary Outdoor 2 Infrared Sauna

Sanctuary Outdoor 5 Infrared Sauna
Trinity FD-9 Outdoor Combination Sauna (SKU FD-KN005)



Carinthia 3 Person Hybrid (GDI-8123-01)

Gargellen 5 Person Hybrid (GDI-8125-01)

Nora 2 Person Hybrid (GDI-8222-01)

Nature 5 Outdoor Infrared Sauna

Nature 6 Outdoor Infrared Sauna

Nature 4 Outdoor Infrared Sauna

Sanctuary Outdoor 2 Infrared Sauna

Sanctuary Outdoor 5 Infrared Sauna
Trinity FD-9 Outdoor Combination Sauna (SKU FD-KN005)
Filters
All outdoor infrared saunas compared
| Model | Price | Heat | Seats | Max temp | Wood | Power | Warranty | Returns |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sun Home Luminar 5 (Outdoor Full-Spectrum Infrared) | $13,899 | Full spectrum + far infrared | 5 | 170°F | Interior Canadian red cedar | 240 V / 7,200 W / 30 A, dedicated line with GFCI, NEMA L6-30P | 1 year | 30 days |
| JNH Lifestyles Arki Outdoor Duo | $18,999 | Full-spectrum infrared plus red light, 11 carbon heaters (far and mid IR) + 6 red-light emitters at 660 nm, 2350 W | 2 | 170°F | Premium hemlock inside | 120 V / 20 A, dedicated 20 A line required | Limited lifetime | 30 days |
| Golden Designs Carinthia 3 Person Hybrid (GDI-8123-01) | $8,999 | Infrared plus electric stove (hybrid), stove 8.0 kW or full-spectrum IR: 8 emitters (2 PureTech carbon panels, far IR + 6 near-infrared elements) | 3 | 140°F | Canadian hemlock, water-repellent stain outside | 240 V / 40 A (stove and infrared) | Limited lifetime | 30 days |
| Golden Designs Gargellen 5 Person Hybrid (GDI-8125-01) | $9,999 | Infrared plus electric stove (hybrid), stove 8.0 kW or full-spectrum IR: 10 emitters (4 PureTech carbon panels, far IR + 6 near-infrared elements) | 5 | 140°F | Canadian hemlock, water-repellent stain outside | 240 V / 40 A (stove and infrared) | Limited lifetime | 30 days |
| Golden Designs Nora 2 Person Hybrid (GDI-8222-01) | $18,999 | Infrared plus electric stove (hybrid), stove 6.0 kW or full-spectrum IR: 6 emitters (2 PureTech carbon panels, far IR + 4 near-infrared elements) | 2 | 140°F | Canadian red cedar inside | 240 V / 30 A (stove and infrared) | Limited lifetime | 30 days |
| Medical Saunas Nature 5 Outdoor Infrared Sauna | $7,339 | Full-spectrum infrared ("Ultra Full Spectrum Outdoor Heaters"), 7 heaters, 2600 W | 1–2 | Not stated | Natural hemlock | 120 V / 40 A, single 120 V plug | 3 years | 30 days |
| Medical Saunas Nature 6 Outdoor Infrared Sauna | $9,339 | Full-spectrum infrared ("Ultra Full Spectrum Outdoor Heaters"), 9 heaters, 3400 W | 2–3 | Not stated | Natural hemlock | 120 V / 40 A, single 120 V plug | 3 years | 30 days |
| Medical Saunas Nature 4 Outdoor Infrared Sauna | $5,339 | Full-spectrum infrared ("Ultra Full Spectrum Outdoor Heaters"), 6 heaters, 2200 W | 1 | Not stated | Natural hemlock | 120 V / 25–30 A, single 120 V plug | 3 years | 30 days |
| Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor 2 Infrared Sauna | Price on request | Full spectrum + far infrared (True Wave) | 2 | Not stated | Mahogany interior | 240 V / 2,320 W / 9.7 A, NEMA 6-15P | Lifetime | 30 days |
| Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor 5 Infrared Sauna | Price on request | Full spectrum + far infrared (True Wave) | 4–5 | Not stated | Mahogany interior | 240 V / 3,600 W / 15 A, NEMA 6-20P | Lifetime | 30 days |
| Finnmark Designs Trinity FD-9 Outdoor Combination Sauna (SKU FD-KN005) | Price on request | Hybrid: infrared + electric stove | 2 | Not stated | Interior Canadian red cedar Clear "A" | Infrared 1,750 W, 120 V / 15 A, NEMA 5-15P | 20 years | 30 days |
Which outdoor infrared sauna to buy
We track 11 outdoor infrared saunas. Our top pick is Sun Home Luminar 5 (Outdoor Full-Spectrum Infrared), scored 9.25/10. 7 are infrared and 4 combine infrared and an electric stove. Prices run $5,339 to $18,999, checked Oct 8, 2026. 3 models are price on request.
Only 11 infrared saunas in our database are sold for outdoor use, and they cost more than indoor cabins: $5,339 to $18,999 where a price is published. Don't put an indoor cabin outside instead. Golden Designs, which makes Dynamic and Maxxus, says outdoor installation voids the warranty on its indoor models.
For a family, the Sun Home Luminar 5 ($13,899, five seats) has the most complete cold-weather guidance. For two, the JNH Lifestyles Arki Outdoor Duo runs on a 120 V circuit. The cheapest is the Medical Saunas Nature 4 Outdoor Infrared Sauna at $5,339.
7 of these are infrared only; 4 are hybrids that switch between infrared panels and an electric stove. I compared them on what brands publish: power, cold-weather limits, warranty, delivery.
Those two are the only outdoor infrared models here we link to a store. Of the rest, the Medical Saunas Nature 4 Outdoor Infrared Sauna is the cheapest at $5,339: one seat, a 3-year warranty, and a listed supply of 120 V / 25–30 A, single 120 V plug, which isn't a standard household outlet. Golden Designs' Carinthia ($8,999, three seats) and Gargellen ($9,999, five) are hybrids that switch between infrared panels and a 8 kW stove: 140°F in infrared mode and 190°F with the stove, on 240 V / 40 A, with a "limited lifetime" warranty on the cabin and 5 years on the wood, controls and wiring (hybrid warranty).
Three models only appear in the comparison: Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor 2 Infrared Sauna and Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor 5 Infrared Sauna have no price on Clearlight's site, and Finnmark Designs Trinity FD-9 Outdoor Combination Sauna has no dealer price we could find.
Can an infrared sauna be used outdoors?
Only one built for it. Indoor cabins have thin walls, no roof membrane and electronics that aren't sealed against rain. Golden Designs is explicit: installing an indoor Dynamic, Maxxus or Golden Designs cabin outside voids the warranty (warranty terms). Even its traditional Golden Designs Copenhagen 3 Person is described as for "indoor or covered exterior use", which is worth confirming against the warranty before you put it on a patio.
Outdoor models handle weather differently. Sun Home ships the Luminar with an all-weather cover and, on an older page, said the cover "is required at all times" in exposed spots "to maintain the warranty". Its warranty page also says it doesn't cover heavy rain or storms and recommends a covered area in harsh climates (warranty page). In practice, plan on a roof or a sheltered wall for any of them.
How infrared saunas do in cold weather
| Model | What the brand says |
|---|---|
| Sun Home Luminar 5 | Heaters "will face difficulty reaching optimal temperature" at 40°F or below; allow about 60 minutes to heat up. An older Sun Home page advises not using it at 25°F or below and rates the roof for about a foot of snow (manual, information page). |
| JNH Lifestyles Arki Outdoor Duo | Rated to run outdoors from 0°F to 104°F, with seven-layer insulation, per JNH. |
| Medical Saunas Nature 4 Outdoor Infrared Sauna | Not stated. |
| Golden Designs Carinthia 3 Person Hybrid | Not stated. |
| Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor 2 Infrared Sauna | Not stated. |
Sun Home is the only brand here that puts a number on heat-up time in the cold, and the number is an hour. The others say nothing, which I'd read as "plan for it". If you want winter sessions in a cold climate, the hybrids' stove mode is the safer bet, and so is a traditional sauna.
Infrared or traditional for outdoors?
By the numbers brands publish, traditional saunas run hotter: up to 194°F among the outdoor stove saunas in our database, against 170°F for the hottest infrared model here. Infrared needs less power in the small sizes (the Arki and Finnmark's infrared side run on 120 V), but a five-seat infrared cabin like the Luminar needs 240 V just as a stove sauna does.
Price is close. Outdoor barrels and cabins with stoves start lower, at $4,036.50; see outdoor saunas and barrel saunas. The hybrids give you both and cost about what a large infrared cabin does.
Before you buy: base, power, permits, delivery
- Base. Sun Home's manual asks for a level, dry surface that can carry 1,270 lb for the Luminar 5, with 8 inches of clearance behind and beside it, and advises against setting it on dirt or grass (manual). Other brands' instructions weren't available for these models, so ask for them before ordering.
- Power. 4 of the 11 models list a 120 V supply; the rest need 240 V for at least part of the system. Every outdoor run needs a weatherproof outlet or a hard-wired connection, so check with a licensed electrician first.
- Permits and HOA. Whether a backyard sauna needs a permit depends on your city: check your local building department and, if you have one, your HOA.
- Delivery. Expect a pallet at the curb. Sun Home says the freight company won't bring it up the driveway without paid white-glove service and recommends two to four helpers and a dolly (shipping page).
| Model | Price | Power, per the brand |
|---|---|---|
| Sun Home Luminar 5 | $13,899 | 240 V / 7,200 W / 30 A, dedicated line with GFCI, NEMA L6-30P |
| JNH Lifestyles Arki Outdoor Duo | $18,999 | 120 V / 20 A, dedicated 20 A line required; plugs into a 20 A outlet |
| Golden Designs Carinthia 3 Person Hybrid | $8,999 | 240 V / 40 A (stove and infrared) |
| Golden Designs Gargellen 5 Person Hybrid | $9,999 | 240 V / 40 A (stove and infrared) |
| Golden Designs Nora 2 Person Hybrid | $18,999 | 240 V / 30 A (stove and infrared) |
| Medical Saunas Nature 5 Outdoor Infrared Sauna | $7,339 | 120 V / 40 A, single 120 V plug |
| Medical Saunas Nature 6 Outdoor Infrared Sauna | $9,339 | 120 V / 40 A, single 120 V plug |
| Medical Saunas Nature 4 Outdoor Infrared Sauna | $5,339 | 120 V / 25–30 A, single 120 V plug |
| Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor 2 Infrared Sauna | Price on request | 240 V / 2,320 W / 9.7 A, NEMA 6-15P |
| Clearlight Sanctuary Outdoor 5 Infrared Sauna | Price on request | 240 V / 3,600 W / 15 A, NEMA 6-20P |
| Finnmark Designs Trinity FD-9 Outdoor Combination Sauna | Price on request | Infrared 1,750 W, 120 V / 15 A, NEMA 5-15P; stove (Harvia Vega Pro 1.9 kW) 120 V / 20 A (240 V / 15 A optional) |
Questions people ask
Does anyone make an outdoor infrared sauna?
Yes. In our database: Sun Home, JNH Lifestyles, Golden Designs, Medical Saunas, Clearlight, Finnmark Designs. Indoor cabins from other brands aren't rated for outside.
Can an infrared sauna be used outdoors?
Only models sold as outdoor saunas, and even those do best under a roof. Putting an indoor cabin outside voids Golden Designs' warranty, and Sun Home ties the Luminar's warranty to using its weather cover.
What type of sauna is best for outdoors?
For winter use in a cold climate, a stove: traditional outdoor saunas in our database reach 194°F, and infrared heaters struggle below 40°F by Sun Home's own account. For mild climates or a covered patio, an outdoor infrared cabin works and the small ones run on 120 V.
What is the downside to an infrared sauna?
Besides cost and the cold-weather limits above, the usual heat risks apply: dehydration and low blood pressure, worse with alcohol (Hannuksela, 2001). See our medical disclaimer.
How we picked
Every sauna gets 1.5 to 2 points on each of 5 criteria: Heat figures, published specs, price per person, warranty and returns and owner reviews. The score out of 10 is the sum, from 7.5 to 10. Owner reviews not summarized yet, so every model gets 1.75 of 2 points there for now. Prices were checked on Oct 8, 2026. Read the full method.


















