Best wood-burning sauna stoves

8 wood-burning stoves compared on kW, room size, US listing and weight. Our top pick is the Harvia M3 (WKM3) 16.5 kW, $969. Read the full summary ↓

All 8 wood-burning stoves

8 of 8 wood-burning stoves
8 of 8 wood-burning stoves
Cozy Heat 12 kW
9/10
Cozy Heat

12 kW

$1,912.50wcsaunas.com
Wood stove2-yr warranty
Cozy Heat 12 kW
9/10
Cozy Heat

12 kW

Wood stove2-yr warranty
$1,912.50wcsaunas.com

All wood-burning stoves compared

8 models · prices and specs checked Oct 8, 2026 · scroll →
All wood-burning stoves compared: price, kw, room size, us listing, weight, warranty, returns. Prices checked Oct 8, 2026.
ModelPricekWRoom sizeUS listingWeightWarrantyReturns
Harvia M3 (WKM3) 16.5 kW$96916.5 kW212–459 cu ftNo US listing99.2 lb2 years30 days
Harvia Legend 150 (WK150LD) 16 kW$2,08916 kW212–459 cu ftNo US listing135.6 lb2 years30 days
Harvia Legend 240 SL (WKLE20SLM) 21 kW$2,50221 kW353–848 cu ftNo US listing180.1 lb2 years30 days
HUUM HIVE Flow Mini 8.5 kW$2,8988.5 kW212–494 cu ftNo US listing119 lb3 years30 days
Narvi NC 16 Black 16 kW$1,69516 kW283–565 cu ftNo US listing159 lb2 years30 days
Cozy Heat 12 kW$1,912.5012 kW210–423 cu ftNo US listing108 lb2 years30 days
Kuuma Classic Kuuma Legacy Small$2,395Not stated336–512 cu ftUL 1482375 lbNot statedNot stated
Kuuma BluFlame Small$3,995Not stated336–576 cu ftNo US listing375 lbNot statedNot stated

Which wood-burning sauna stove to buy

We track 8 wood-burning stoves. Harvia M3 (WKM3) 16.5 kW has the highest score, 9/10, tied with 3 other models. Prices run $969 to $3,995, checked Oct 8, 2026.

A wood-burning sauna stove needs no 240 V circuit, but it needs a chimney, clearances and, in most places, an inspector's sign-off. The first thing an inspector asks about is the US safety listing, and only 1 of the 8 stoves here has one: the Kuuma Classic Kuuma Legacy Small, listed to UL 1482. The rest carry European marks.

My picks: the Harvia M3 (WKM3) 16.5 kW ($969) on price and the HUUM HIVE Flow Mini 8.5 kW ($2,898) for the longest warranty. Neither has a US listing. The one stove here that does, the Kuuma, is sold only direct by its maker, and we don't link to it.

I compared 8 stoves from $969 to $3,995, at the maker or at dealers.

Lowest price
Harvia M3 (WKM3) 16.5 kWA compact 16.5 kW Harvia for 212–459 cu ft, with a glass door and room for 66 lb of stones. CE and EN 15821 only; Harvia sells an adapter for a 6 in North American chimney.
Longest warranty
HUUM HIVE Flow Mini 8.5 kWHUUM gives 3 years for home use, against 2 for the Harvia, Narvi and Cozy stoves. It holds 231 lb of stones, sold separately. A test report quoted by the dealer puts efficiency at 75.1%; it carries EU certification, not UL.
Fed from outside
Harvia Legend 240 SL (WKLE20SLM) 21 kWThe only stove here whose firebox passes through the wall, so you load wood from the next room. 21 kW for 353–848 cu ft, with up to 440 lb of stones.

If your inspector wants a US listing, the only stove here with one is the Kuuma Classic Kuuma Legacy Small ($2,395): made in Minnesota and listed by PFS-TECO to UL 1482, per Kuuma, and not EPA certified, so it's for a sauna, not for heating a home. Kuuma sells it direct, ships by lift-gate truck to the end of your driveway and doesn't put warranty or return terms on the page, and there's no store link for it on this site. It's rated for 336–512 cu ft and takes a 6 in chimney.

The Harvia Legend 150 (WK150LD) 16 kW ($2,089) holds up to 264 lb of stones in a round frame. Narvi's NC 16 and Cozy's Heat 12 are sold through dealers without an affiliate program; Cozy says its stove uses 25–40% less wood than others, without a measurement behind it. Kuuma's BluFlame ($3,995) isn't UL listed "at this time", per Kuuma, and takes a non-refundable $1,000 deposit to hold a place in the build queue.

What the inspector will ask: UL 1482

Safety listing each seller states
StoveListingRoom sizeChimney collar
Harvia M3 (WKM3) 16.5 kWCE212–459 cu ft4.5 in
Harvia Legend 150 (WK150LD) 16 kWCE212–459 cu ft4.5 in
Harvia Legend 240 SL (WKLE20SLM) 21 kWCE353–848 cu ft4.5 in
HUUM HIVE Flow Mini 8.5 kWEN 15821212–494 cu ft4.5 in
Narvi NC 16 Black 16 kWSafety listing on the dealer page: CE only283–565 cu ftnot stated
Cozy Heat 12 kWGerman BImSchV210–423 cu ftnot stated
Kuuma Classic Kuuma Legacy SmallUL 1482 (PFS-TECO)336–512 cu ft6 in
Kuuma BluFlame SmallNot UL listed336–576 cu ft6 in

The pattern is clear: the European stoves carry CE marks and EN 15821, and one carries a German emissions certificate. Only the Kuuma Classic names a US listing. Whether your building department or insurer accepts a stove without one is their call, so ask them before you buy. Chimney, clearances and floor protection come from the manufacturer's installation manual, installed by a certified installer; HUUM's dealer says the chimney connection must be done by one.

Electric or wood-burning?

Electric heaters vs wood stoves in our database
ElectricWood-burning
Power supply240 V circuit, electricianNone; a chimney instead
US listing statedUL 875 on 5 of 12UL 1482 on 1 of 8
Price range$1,195 to $5,322$969 to $3,995
Median price$2,002$2,242
Heat-up timeAbout an hour, per Harvia and HUUMNot published by the makers here

Wood saves the 240 V circuit and works off the grid, which is why every trailer sauna here burns wood. Electric is simpler to permit, starts on a timer, and more of the heaters carry a US listing. Electric heaters are on our sauna heaters page.

Wood-fired saunas: which ones take a stove

Saunas in our database that can take a wood stove
SaunaShapeSeatsPriceStove
Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber HarmonyBarrel4$5,946Sold separately, electric or wood
Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber SerenityBarrel5$6,127Sold separately, electric or wood
Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber TranquilityBarrel6$6,483Sold separately, electric or wood
Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber Georgian CabinCabin6$7,616Sold separately, electric or wood
Almost Heaven Blackwater 4 Person Cube SaunaCube4–6$11,268Electric included; Harvia M3 option
Almost Heaven Solide Compact 4-6 Person Cabin SaunaCabin4–6$14,233Electric included; wood option

Dundalk sells its barrels and cabins without a heater, electric or wood, so you pick the stove. Almost Heaven ships the Blackwater cube with an electric heater and offers the Harvia M3 instead; the Solide cabin has a wood option too. Dundalk's Luna is electric only. More barrels on barrel saunas, cabins on cube and cabin saunas, everything else on outdoor saunas.

Mobile wood-fired sauna trailers

"Mobile sauna" in the US means one of two things: a sauna built on a trailer with a wood stove, or a portable tent (that's on our portable saunas page). The two trailers in our database are both Heritage Sauna models sold by The Sauna Place:

For comparison, a six-seat Dundalk Tranquility barrel at $6,483 plus a Harvia Legend stove at $2,089 comes to $8,572, less than half the cheaper trailer. You pay for the wheels. If you go mobile anyway, registration, towing and insurance are questions for your state DMV and your insurer, and The Sauna Place's return policy doesn't say whether trailers are covered.

How big a stove do I need?

Each maker rates its stoves for a room volume: measure length × width × height in feet. Here the ranges run from 212–459 cu ft for the Harvia M3 to 353–848 cu ft for the Legend 240 SL, and Kuuma sells the Classic in Small, Medium and Large. Some makers also set a minimum ceiling height. Use the maker's chart, not a rule of thumb.

Questions people ask

What is the best wood-burning stove for a sauna?

On price, the Harvia M3 (WKM3) 16.5 kW; on warranty, the HUUM HIVE Flow Mini 8.5 kW. Neither carries a US listing: the only stove here listed to UL 1482 is the Kuuma Classic Kuuma Legacy Small, so check what your inspector requires before you choose.

Can you use a regular wood stove in a sauna?

Use a stove made for saunas. Even those differ: Kuuma says its Classic is for saunas only and not for heating a home. Installation follows the maker's manual, by a certified installer.

Is an electric or wood-burning sauna better?

Electric is easier to permit and runs on a timer; wood needs no 240 V line and works off the grid. In our database the median wood stove costs $2,242, the median electric heater $2,002.

How much is a mobile sauna?

The two trailers in our database cost $27,999 and $32,299. A backyard barrel with the same number of seats and a wood stove costs a fraction of that.

How long does a wood-fired sauna take to heat?

None of the makers here publish a heat-up time for their wood stoves. Electric heaters from Harvia and HUUM take about an hour.

Are wood-burning saunas healthy?

No study I found compares wood and electric heat. The long-term Finnish data link frequent sauna use with lower cardiovascular death rates without splitting by heater type (Laukkanen, 2015). Smoke and carbon monoxide are installation questions; follow the stove maker's manual.

How we picked

Every stove gets 1.5 to 2 points on each of 5 criteria: Heat figures, published specs, price, warranty and returns and owner reviews. The score out of 10 is the sum, from 7.5 to 10. Owner reviews not summarized yet, so every model gets 1.75 of 2 points there for now. Prices were checked on Oct 8, 2026. Read the full method.

Affiliate links