
Best red light therapy panels
38 panels compared on wavelengths, output, warranty and 510(k) records. Our top pick is the Hooga HG300, $199. Read the full summary ↓
All 38 panels
38 of 38 panels

MitoPRO 300+

PRO750

BIOMAX 300

MitoPRO 1500+

ULTRA1500

2.0

BIOMAX 900

MitoADAPT MAX 4.0

BIOMAX PRO ULTRA

Demi Red Light Therapy Device

Max Red Light Therapy Device

Super Max Red Light Therapy Device

Tabletop G4

FACE (Series 2)

HOME (Series 2)

PowerPanel PRO (Gen 6.0)

LITE (Series 2)

SPORT (Series 2)

Mini 3.0


PowerPanel MEGA (Gen 6.0)

NOVA

PRO (Series 2)

PRO PLUS (Series 2)


Pro G5

Solo 3.0

Max G4

CONTOUR

CONTOUR PLUS

ELITE

DELUX S2

Half-Max 3.0

Duo 3.0

Max 3.0

Quad 3.0

Elite 3.0

HG300

MitoPRO 300+

PRO750

BIOMAX 300

MitoPRO 1500+

ULTRA1500


BIOMAX 900

MitoADAPT MAX 4.0

BIOMAX PRO ULTRA

Demi Red Light Therapy Device

Max Red Light Therapy Device

Super Max Red Light Therapy Device

Tabletop G4

FACE (Series 2)

HOME (Series 2)

PowerPanel PRO (Gen 6.0)

LITE (Series 2)


Mini 3.0


PowerPanel MEGA (Gen 6.0)


PRO (Series 2)



Pro G5

Solo 3.0

Max G4

CONTOUR

CONTOUR PLUS





Max 3.0


Elite 3.0
Filters
All panels compared
| Model | FDA | Price | Wavelengths | LEDs | Brand irradiance | Measured | Warranty | Returns |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hooga HG300 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $199 | 660, 850 nm | 60 | 73 mW/cm² at 6 in | 55 mW/cm² avg (lighttherapyinsiders.com) | 3 years | 60 days |
| Mito Red Light MitoPRO 300+ | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $369 | 630, 660, 830, 850 nm | 60 | Over 130 / over 60 mW/cm² at 6 in (two measurement methods) | Not measured | 3 years | 60 days |
| Hooga PRO750 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $599 | 660, 850 nm | 150 | 183 mW/cm² at 6 in (205 mW/cm² at 3 in) | Not measured | 3 years | 60 days |
| PlatinumLED BIOMAX 300 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $659 | 480, 630, 660, 810, 830, 850, 1060 nm | 100 | 90.41 mW/cm² at center, 71.79 average (7×7 grid, 350–1700 nm); LightLab International report LLIA002684-001, commissioned by the brand | Not measured | 3 years | 60 days |
| Mito Red Light MitoPRO 1500+ | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $1,169 | 630, 660, 830, 850 nm | 300 | Over 170 / over 68 mW/cm² at 6 in (two measurement methods) | 76.5 mW/cm² avg (lighttherapyinsiders.com) | 3 years | 60 days |
| Hooga ULTRA1500 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $1,399 | 630, 660, 810, 850 nm | 300 | 165 mW/cm² at 6 in (190 mW/cm² at 3 in) | 81.7 mW/cm² avg (lighttherapyinsiders.com) | 3 years | 60 days |
| LumeBox 2.0 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $629 | 660, 850 nm | Not stated | 125 mW/cm² red, 140 mW/cm² NIR at 1 cm (brand-commissioned lab, not named) | Not measured | 1 year | 30 days |
| PlatinumLED BIOMAX 900 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $1,299 | 480, 630, 660, 810, 830, 850, 1060 nm | 300 | Not stated | 90 mW/cm² avg (lighttherapyinsiders.com) | 3 years | 60 days |
| Mito Red Light MitoADAPT MAX 4.0 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $1,499 | 590, 630, 660, 670, 810, 830, 850, 940 nm | 288 | Over 140 / over 60 mW/cm² at 6 in (two measurement methods) | 58 mW/cm² avg (lighttherapyinsiders.com) | 3 years | 60 days |
| PlatinumLED BIOMAX PRO ULTRA | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $1,599 | 480, 630, 660, 810, 830, 850, 1060 nm | 432 | 121.12 mW/cm² at center, 102.62 average (High Power, 7×7 grid); LightLab International report LLIA002684-006, commissioned by the brand | 101 mW/cm² avg (lighttherapyinsiders.com) | 3 years | 60 days |
| Bon Charge Demi Red Light Therapy Device | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $699 | 660, 850 nm | 60 | More than 100 mW/cm² (distance not stated) | Not measured | 1 year | 30 days |
| Bon Charge Max Red Light Therapy Device | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $999 | 660, 850 nm | 200 | More than 142 mW/cm² (distance not stated) | Not measured | 1 year | 30 days |
| Bon Charge Super Max Red Light Therapy Device | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $1,599 | 660, 850 nm | 300 | More than 162 mW/cm² (distance not stated) | Not measured | 1 year | 30 days |
| Rouge Tabletop G4 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $483 | 630, 650, 660, 670, 810, 830, 850, 1060 nm | 72 | 164 mW/cm² (solar meter) / 79 mW/cm² (spectrometer), at 6 in | Not measured | 3 years | 60 days |
| Celluma FACE (Series 2) | FDA clearedK171323 | $795 | 465, 640, 880 nm | 236 | 6.5 mW/cm² per 510(k) K171323 (Celluma3, earlier model); brand does not publish a figure | Not measured | 2 years | 30 days |
| Celluma HOME (Series 2) | FDA clearedK171323 | $795 | 465, 640, 880 nm | 236 | 6.5 mW/cm² per 510(k) K171323 (Celluma3, earlier model); brand does not publish a figure | Not measured | 2 years | 30 days |
| BlockBlueLight PowerPanel PRO (Gen 6.0) | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $899.95 | 590, 630, 650, 660, 810, 830, 850, 1060 nm | 150 | 160 mW/cm² (solar meter) / 68 mW/cm² (spectrometer), at 6 in | Not measured | 5 years | 30 days |
| Celluma LITE (Series 2) | FDA clearedK171323 | $1,195 | 465, 640, 880 nm | 236 | 6.5 mW/cm² per 510(k) K171323 (Celluma3, earlier model); brand does not publish a figure | Not measured | 2 years | 30 days |
| Celluma SPORT (Series 2) | FDA clearedK232977 | $1,295 | 465, 640, 880 nm | 353 | Not stated | Not measured | 2 years | 30 days |
| Joovv Mini 3.0 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $1,099 | 660, 850 nm | 60 | More than 100 mW/cm² (distance not stated) | 53 mW/cm² avg (lighttherapyinsiders.com) | 2 years | 60 days |
| Kala Red Light Elite Panel | Clearance not confirmed | $1,189.99 | 660, 850 nm | 231 | 161 mW/cm² at 6 in | 84 mW/cm² avg (lighttherapyinsiders.com) | 2 years | 30 days |
| BlockBlueLight PowerPanel MEGA (Gen 6.0) | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $1,499.95 | 590, 630, 650, 660, 810, 830, 850, 1060 nm | 300 | 167 mW/cm² (solar meter) / 89 mW/cm² (spectrometer), at 6 in | 81 mW/cm² avg (lighttherapyinsiders.com) | 5 years | 30 days |
| Celluma NOVA | FDA clearedK232977 | $1,595 | 465, 640, 880 nm | 236 | Not stated | Not measured | 2 years | 30 days |
| Celluma PRO (Series 2) | FDA clearedK171323 | $1,795 | 465, 640, 880 nm | 353 | 6.5 mW/cm² per 510(k) K171323 (Celluma3, earlier model); brand does not publish a figure | Not measured | 2 years | 30 days |
| Celluma PRO PLUS (Series 2) | FDA clearedK171323 | $1,995 | 465, 640, 880 nm | 236 | Not stated | Not measured | 2 years | 30 days |
| Kala Red Light Pro Panel | Clearance not confirmed | $679.99 | 660, 850 nm | 85 | 135 mW/cm² "at distances greater than 6 inches" (as worded on the site) | Not measured | 2 years | 30 days |
| Rouge Pro G5 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $1,480 | 630, 650, 660, 670, 810, 830, 850, 1060 nm | 288 | Not stated | Not measured | 3 years | 60 days |
| Joovv Solo 3.0 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $1,699 | 660, 850 nm | 150 | More than 100 mW/cm² (distance not stated) | 59.2 mW/cm² avg (lighttherapyinsiders.com) | 2 years | 60 days |
| Rouge Max G4 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $2,246 | 630, 650, 660, 670, 810, 830, 850, 1060 nm | 576 | 164 mW/cm² (solar meter) / 81 mW/cm² (spectrometer), at 6 in | Not measured | 3 years | 60 days |
| Celluma CONTOUR | FDA clearedK232977 | $4,495 | 465, 640, 880 nm | 1,059 | 4.2 mW/cm² at 640 nm, 0.7 mW/cm² at 880 nm (510(k) K232977, CONTOUR) | Not measured | 2 years | 30 days |
| Celluma CONTOUR PLUS | FDA clearedK232977 | $4,995 | 465, 640, 880 nm | 1,295 | 4.2 mW/cm² at 640 nm, 0.7 mW/cm² at 880 nm (510(k) K232977, CONTOUR) | Not measured | 2 years | 30 days |
| Celluma ELITE | FDA clearedK232977 | $5,995 | 465, 640, 880 nm | 1,059 | Not stated | Not measured | 2 years | 30 days |
| Celluma DELUX S2 | FDA clearedK171323 | $9,995 | 465, 640, 880 nm | 2,124 | Not stated | Not measured | 2 years | 30 days |
| Joovv Half-Max 3.0 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $2,999 | 660, 850 nm | Not stated | More than 100 mW/cm² (brand tag, distance not stated) | Not measured | 2 years | 60 days |
| Joovv Duo 3.0 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $3,699 | 660, 850 nm | Not stated | More than 100 mW/cm² (brand tag, distance not stated) | Not measured | 2 years | 60 days |
| Joovv Max 3.0 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $5,999 | 660, 850 nm | 420 | More than 100 mW/cm² (brand tag, distance not stated) | Not measured | 2 years | 60 days |
| Joovv Quad 3.0 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $7,399 | 660, 850 nm | Not stated | More than 100 mW/cm² (brand tag, distance not stated) | Not measured | 2 years | 60 days |
| Joovv Elite 3.0 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $11,099 | 660, 850 nm | 900 | More than 100 mW/cm² (distance not stated) | Not measured | 2 years | 60 days |
Which panel to buy
We track 38 panels. Hooga HG300 has the highest score, 9.75/10. 11 of 38 have an FDA 510(k) clearance on record. The lowest-priced FDA-cleared option is Celluma FACE (Series 2) at $795. Prices run $199 to $11,099, checked Oct 8, 2026.
The highest independent reading belongs to the PlatinumLED BIOMAX PRO ULTRA, 101 mW/cm² on average. The cheapest way to get measured output is the Hooga HG300: $199 for 55 mW/cm², though it covers 16.5 × 13 in at 6 in. Across the 10 panels with an independent test, most measured about half of what the brand prints.
Claimed vs measured: whose numbers hold up
I put every independent measurement I could find next to the brand's own number. There are 10 of them for the 38 panels here, and they all come from one person: Alex Fergus, who reviews panels on lighttherapyinsiders.com with a spectrometer. One tester is a limit worth keeping in mind. Still, his method is the same across brands, so the gaps between panels mean something even if his absolute numbers are off.
| Panel | Brand says | Measured | Measured as share of the brand's top figure | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PlatinumLED BIOMAX PRO ULTRA | 121.12 mW/cm² at center, 102.62 average (High Power, 7×7 grid); LightLab International report LLIA002684-006, commissioned by the brand | 101 avg / 120 peak, distance not stated | 83% | Aug 21, 2025 |
| PlatinumLED BIOMAX 900 | No mW/cm² figure published | 90 avg, 6 in | — | Jul 11, 2026 |
| Kala Red Light Elite Panel | 161 mW/cm² at 6 in | 84 avg, 6 in | 52% | Jul 11, 2026 |
| Hooga ULTRA1500 | 165 mW/cm² at 6 in (190 mW/cm² at 3 in) | 81.7 avg / 104 peak, 6 in | 50% | May 20, 2024 |
| BlockBlueLight PowerPanel MEGA (Gen 6.0) | 167 mW/cm² (solar meter) / 89 mW/cm² (spectrometer), at 6 in | 81 avg / 105 peak, distance not stated | 49% | Jul 16, 2025 |
| Mito Red Light MitoPRO 1500+ | Over 170 / over 68 mW/cm² at 6 in (two measurement methods) | 76.5 avg / 87 peak, 6 in | 45% | Aug 10, 2024 |
| Joovv Solo 3.0 | More than 100 mW/cm² (distance not stated) | 59.2 avg / 72.4 peak, 6 in | 59% | Apr 2024 |
| Mito Red Light MitoADAPT MAX 4.0 | Over 140 / over 60 mW/cm² at 6 in (two measurement methods) | 58 avg / 74 peak, distance not stated | 41% | Mar 13, 2026 |
| Hooga HG300 | 73 mW/cm² at 6 in | 55 avg / 69 peak, 6 in | 75% | Oct 16, 2023 |
| Joovv Mini 3.0 | More than 100 mW/cm² (distance not stated) | 53 avg, 6 in | 53% | Jan 24, 2024 |
Notes on the tests: PlatinumLED BIOMAX PRO ULTRA: distance and meter not stated in the source article; PlatinumLED BIOMAX 900: test covers the previous generation; current generation not stated on the page; BlockBlueLight PowerPanel MEGA (Gen 6.0): test is for generation 5; the site now sells Gen 6.0; distance not stated; Mito Red Light MitoADAPT MAX 4.0: distance and meter not stated in the source article; Hooga HG300: independent test is from 2023; brand claim is current; Joovv Mini 3.0: meter not stated in the source article.
Two patterns stand out. Brands that print one big number, with no method attached, land at about half of it: the Hooga ULTRA1500 measured 81.7 mW/cm² against 165 claimed, the Kala Red Light Elite Panel 84 against 161. Brands that publish a lab or spectrometer figure come close. PlatinumLED quotes a 102.62 mW/cm² average for the PRO ULTRA from a lab report it paid for, and Fergus got 101.
The reason for the half is the meter. BlockBlueLight and Rouge print two numbers for the same panel on their own product pages, one from a solar power meter and one from a spectrometer. The solar meter reads 1.9 to 2.4 times higher: the BlockBlueLight PowerPanel MEGA (Gen 6.0) is listed at 167 and 89 mW/cm². Most brands that print a single figure don't say which meter they used. Fergus's explanation is that solar meters "are designed to measure sunlight, not LEDs, and they often read two to three times higher than the actual value" (his spectrometer review, Sep 23, 2025), and Mito, which prints both kinds of figure, says the same: solar meters "can significantly overstate output - sometimes by as much as 2–3×".
His own method, as he describes it: a Hopoocolor OHSP-350 spectrometer, nine points on each panel, averaged, at six inches.
A test of an older version doesn't carry over to the current one. The BlockBlueLight PowerPanel MEGA (Gen 6.0) test was on the previous generation, and the PlatinumLED BIOMAX 900 figure comes from a comparison that doesn't name the generation sold today. Bon Charge is the same story: Fergus measured the old Hive Max, not today's Max, so the Bon Charge panels sit in the grid without a measured figure. The full chart, masks and wands included, is on the irradiance page.
Measured output per dollar
Divide the measured average by the price and the Hooga HG300 wins by a mile: 27.6 mW/cm² for every $100, because it costs $199. It is a small panel, though. For a panel that covers your torso in one go, the best measured output per dollar among the panels we link to comes from the PlatinumLED BIOMAX 900 (6.9 per $100 at $1,299), Mito Red Light MitoPRO 1500+ (6.5 per $100 at $1,169) and PlatinumLED BIOMAX PRO ULTRA (6.3 per $100 at $1,599). Kala's Elite Panel measures a little more per dollar, 7.1 per $100, but has no store link here.
Mito is a case where the brand's own figures disagree with each other. The MitoPRO 1500+ page gives two numbers from "two measurement methods", over 170 and over 68 mW/cm². Fergus measured 76.5, which sits above the smaller one. If a brand gives you two numbers, plan around the smaller one.
The cheapest way into red light is a bulb. What a spectrometer measured from bulbs and heat lamps next to a panel is in red light bulbs vs panels. Minutes per session from any of these figures: dosage calculator.
Full body red light therapy: one big panel or a small one moved around
A panel lights a rectangle that grows as you step back and gets dimmer as it grows. Hooga publishes the footprint for its HG300: 16.5 × 13 in at 6 in; 23.6 × 20 in at 12 in. That is the trade in one line. The Hooga PRO750 covers 28 × 18 in at 6 in, and the tall Hooga ULTRA1500 45 × 13 in at 6 in.
Brands suggest minutes per area, not per body: Hooga 5–15 min per area, Mito 10 min per area, PlatinumLED 10–20 min per area. With a small panel, front and back of the body is several areas, so a full-body routine can run past half an hour. A tall panel does the front in one session and the back in a second. If you want to lie down instead of standing, the red light beds and mats page covers mats and pods that wrap the whole body.
Two wavelengths or eight
15 panels here use two wavelengths, usually 660 and 850 nm. 9 panels use seven or eight, adding 480 nm blue, 590 nm amber or 1060 nm near-infrared. More wavelengths on the same board means fewer LEDs of each one: the PlatinumLED BIOMAX 300 splits 100 LEDs across 7 wavelengths, the Hooga HG300 puts its 60 into two.
No brand page I read cites a trial that compares a two-wavelength panel with an eight-wavelength one. What the studies did use, and how strong they are, is on the red light therapy benefits page.
FDA: why most of these panels aren't cleared
Of the 38 panels, only Celluma's 11 have a 510(k) clearance, and they are a different kind of product: flexible LED pads you wrap around the face or a joint, cleared for wrinkles, acne, heat-based pain relief and, for some models, hair. Which clearance covers which model is in the Celluma review. None of the other 27 panels has a 510(k) clearance I could find in the FDA database. 25 are registered and listed with the FDA as Class II devices, which is a filing, not a review: nobody at the FDA looked at the panel and agreed it does anything. For Hooga even the listing is indirect: it sits under the factory, Shenzhen Sungrow LED, and matches Hooga only by model number. The two Kala panels are where the brand and the records part ways. Kala says they are FDA-cleared; I couldn't match them to a 510(k) record.
"FDA registered" on a product page usually means this listing. Which red light devices do have a clearance, and for what, is on the FDA-cleared devices list.
Warranty and returns
Warranty follows the brand, not the price: each brand gives the same term on all its panels. BlockBlueLight list 5 years on the spec sheet (the page text also says 3, so ask before you buy). Hooga, Mito Red Light, Rouge and PlatinumLED give 3 years. Celluma, Joovv and Kala give 2, and LumeBox and Bon Charge give 1 year on every panel.
Returns split the same way: 19 panels come with 60 days, 19 panels with 30. Read the fine print on the 60-day ones: Hooga takes returns for 60 days, but the buyer pays the return shipping, and PlatinumLED adds a 20% restocking fee on top of that. Bon Charge pairs the shortest warranty with the shortest return window (so does LumeBox), and that costs its panels points in our score. More on that in the Bon Charge review.
Flicker and EMF claims
15 panels carry a flicker claim and 17 panels an EMF claim, from "zero at 6 in" to "0.1 µT at 6 in". All of them are the brands' own statements. I have no independent flicker or EMF reading for any panel here, so these claims don't move the score.
Questions people ask
Does a red light therapy panel really work?
That depends on what you want it for, and the evidence is uneven: some uses have small randomized trials, others only brand claims. Output matters too, since the dose is output times minutes. The studies, with their size and limits, are on the benefits page; nothing here is medical advice (medical disclaimer).
What is the best panel for red light therapy?
By independent measurement, the PlatinumLED BIOMAX PRO ULTRA (101 mW/cm² average, $1,599). For the most measured output per dollar, the Hooga HG300 at $199. The picks at the top of this page are by our score, which also weighs warranty and returns.
What is the downside of red light therapy?
Time and money, mostly. A panel costs $199 to $11,099 here, and each area takes minutes a day for weeks. The brands disagree about your eyes: Hooga's manual says "Eye protection is not required or necessary", PlatinumLED ships goggles "for your comfort", and Mito says eye protection "should be worn when facing the lights, particularly when NIR is active". And the claims on product pages run ahead of the research.
Mito's manual has the longest list of who should be careful: recent burns, extreme light sensitivity, photosensitizing medication, lupus, pregnancy (over the abdomen), hyperthyroidism (over the neck) and malignant cancers, plus a note that red-ink tattoos may fade.
How far should you stand from a red light panel?
The manuals don't agree. Hooga's HG manual says about 18 inches for 5 minutes for skin, and 6 to 12 inches for 10 to 15 minutes for deeper tissue. PlatinumLED's says 8 to 14 inches for 10 to 20 minutes, and 18 to 24 inches for skin. Mito's says 10 minutes at 12 to 18 inches; Joovv's pages say 16–24 in. Most of the independent readings above were taken at 6 inches, so at 18 inches you get less than the table shows, spread over a larger area.
How we picked
Every panel gets 1.5 to 2 points on each of 5 criteria: FDA record, published specs, price, warranty and returns and owner reviews. The score out of 10 is the sum, from 7.5 to 10. Prices were checked on Oct 8, 2026. Read the full method.


















