
Best portable steam saunas
10 portable steam saunas compared on steamer, max temp, safety and warranty. Our top pick is the LifePro Revivify Portable Steam Sauna Tent 2.6L (LP-RVFYM-BLK), $169.99. Read the full summary ↓
All 10 portable steam saunas
10 of 10 portable steam saunas







SmartSteam Kit Pro

Steam Sauna & Red Light Therapy Portable Spa

Steamer Sauna Portable Spa









Steam Sauna & Red Light Therapy Portable Spa

Filters
All portable steam saunas compared
| Model | Price | Steamer | Max temp | Safety | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LifePro Revivify Portable Steam Sauna Tent 2.6L (LP-RVFYM-BLK) | $169.99 | 2.6 L · 1,200 W · 15 levels | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Zonemel Portable Steam Sauna, Full Body Home Sauna Spa, Pop-up Design | $72.99 | 900 W · 9 levels | 113°F | Not stated | Not stated |
| Homedics SaunaZen Portable Steam Sauna (SP-SN300) | $149.99 | Not stated | 115°F | Not stated | 1 year |
| Durasage Lightweight Portable Personal Steam Sauna Spa (SS03) | $114.95 | 1.8 L · 800 W | 115°F | Not stated | Not stated |
| Smartmak Portable Home Steam Sauna, Full Size, 4L Steamer (BS9010) | $85.49 | 4 L · 1,500 W · 16 levels | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| X-Vcak Upgraded Portable Steam Sauna (KC-S01) | $120.68 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| SereneLife Portable Steam Sauna Tent with 4L Steamer (SLISAU35BK) | $199.99 | 4 L · 1,600 W · 9 levels | 122°F | Auto shut-off at low water level; pressure relief valve | Not stated |
| SaunaBox SmartSteam Kit Pro | $299 | Not stated | 140°F | Not stated | Not stated |
| Sharper Image Steam Sauna & Red Light Therapy Portable Spa | Price on request | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Sharper Image Steamer Sauna Portable Spa | Price on request | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Which steam tent to buy
We track 10 portable steam saunas. Our top pick is LifePro Revivify Portable Steam Sauna Tent 2.6L (LP-RVFYM-BLK), scored 8.25/10. Prices run $72.99 to $299, checked Oct 8, 2026. 2 models are price on request.
A portable steam sauna is a fabric tent or box with a small steamer that plugs into a regular outlet. What separates them is the steamer (tank size and wattage), how hot the brand says it gets, and whether it shuts off when the water runs out. Brands list 113–140°F, well below the 180°F+ of an indoor dry sauna.
The tent we link to a store is the LifePro Revivify Portable Steam Sauna Tent 2.6L ($169.99): a 1,200 W steamer with 15 levels and app control. Its listing gives no top temperature and no low-water shut-off; of all the tents here, only SereneLife's names one.
Which portable steam sauna to buy
I compared 10 steam tents from $72.99 to $299. Amazon prices were checked on Oct 7, 2026; marketplace prices change week to week.
- The one we link to: LifePro Revivify Portable Steam Sauna Tent 2.6L, $169.99. A full-height tent with a 2.6 L, 1,200 W steamer, 15 steam levels, a 1–60 minute timer and control from LifePro's app. What's missing from the listing: a top temperature, a low-water shut-off and a warranty, so ask LifePro about all three before you buy.
The rest are in the table without a store link from us. On paper the SereneLife Portable Steam Sauna Tent with 4L Steamer ($199.99) has the largest steamer, 4 L and 1,600 W, a top of 122°F, and the only listing that names both a low-water shut-off and a pressure-relief valve, with about 3,100 ratings averaging 4.0 on Amazon. The Zonemel Portable Steam Sauna, Full Body Home Sauna Spa, Pop-up Design is the cheapest at $72.99, a pop-up box with your head outside. The Homedics SaunaZen Portable Steam Sauna ($149.99) is the only tent with a stated warranty, 1 year. Sharper Image's steam tent with red light publishes no wavelengths or wattage and had no price I could confirm.
Prices for the same tent can differ by store: SaunaBox lists its SmartSteam Kit Pro at $299 on its own site, while Amazon showed it at 230 on October 6, 2026. If you'd rather have dry heat, the infrared tents and domes are on our portable saunas page.
Tent or box: style, steamer and heat
| Model | Style | Steamer | Max temp | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LifePro Revivify Portable Steam Sauna Tent 2.6L | Full-height tent | 2.6 L, 1,200 W | not stated | $169.99 |
| Zonemel Portable Steam Sauna, Full Body Home Sauna Spa, Pop-up Design | Box, head outside | 900 W | 113°F | $72.99 |
| Homedics SaunaZen Portable Steam Sauna | Full-height tent | not stated | 115°F | $149.99 |
| Durasage Lightweight Portable Personal Steam Sauna Spa | Box, head outside | 1.8 L, 800 W | 115°F | $114.95 |
| Smartmak Portable Home Steam Sauna, Full Size, 4L Steamer | Full-height tent | 4 L, 1,500 W | not stated | $85.49 |
| X-Vcak Upgraded Portable Steam Sauna | Full-height tent | not stated | not stated | $120.68 |
| SereneLife Portable Steam Sauna Tent with 4L Steamer | Full-height tent | 4 L, 1,600 W | 122°F | $199.99 |
| SaunaBox SmartSteam Kit Pro | Full-height tent | not stated | 140°F | $299 |
| Sharper Image Steam Sauna & Red Light Therapy Portable Spa | Full-height tent | not stated | not stated | Price on request |
| Sharper Image Steamer Sauna Portable Spa | Full-height tent | not stated | not stated | Price on request |
Two styles: full-height tents you sit inside with a chair, and boxes where your head stays out. Every model in the database is for one person. Two-person versions exist (SereneLife sells one), but none had enough published specs to add. 1 of 10 listings says what happens if the steamer runs dry.
Do portable steam saunas really work?
They do get you hot. In a 2023 study, 12 men sat in steam pods at 44°C (111°F) and 99% humidity for 60 minutes. Their core temperature rose to about 38.1°C, heart rate to about 124 beats per minute, and they sweated roughly 0.73 liters (Willmott, 2023). The study measured how reliably the pods heat, not any health benefit.
Humid heat is also harder on the body than its temperature suggests: in a small study of 10 young women, a humid sauna at 59°C raised core temperature and heart rate more than a dry one at 91°C (Pilch, 2019). So "steam is gentler" doesn't hold. The long-term Finnish data on sauna use come from dry saunas at 80–100°C and don't carry over to a tent.
The downsides
Short or missing warranties: 1 of 10 listings states one. Thin specs: 5 don't publish a top temperature, and the Sharper Image tents don't list wattage. Prices that move between stores. And the steam has to go somewhere: none of the manufacturers' care and room-ventilation instructions were online for me to read, so ask for the manual before you set one up on carpet or in a small bathroom.
How long to sit in one
Brands build in timers: up to 60 minutes on the SereneLife, Durasage and HoMedics, up to 99 on the Zonemel. A timer limit isn't advice. Sauna studies typically used sessions of 5 to 20 minutes (Kukkonen-Harjula, 2006), and people with heart disease, low blood pressure or who are pregnant should check with a doctor first.
What an FDA listing means for a steam tent
The FDA classifies a "moist steam cabinet" intended for medical purposes as a Class II device that doesn't need a 510(k) review (product code IMB). One maker of a Sharper Image steam-and-red-light tent has a listing under that code, but I couldn't match the model number on the store page to it. For the other tents I found no FDA record. A listing is a registration, not an FDA review of any benefit.
Questions people ask
What is the best portable steam sauna?
The tent we link to is the LifePro Revivify Portable Steam Sauna Tent 2.6L ($169.99): a 2.6 L, 1,200 W steamer with 15 levels, though its listing gives no top temperature, low-water shut-off or warranty. Among the rest, SereneLife's listing names the biggest steamer, 4 L, and is the only one with a low-water shut-off and a pressure valve.
Do portable steam saunas really work?
They raise body temperature and heart rate: in a study of steam pods at 44°C and 99% humidity, core temperature reached about 38.1°C in an hour (Willmott, 2023). Evidence of health benefits from steam tents specifically is lacking.
How long should you sit in a portable steam sauna?
The manuals I could find don't say beyond the timer. Sauna studies used 5–20 minute sessions (Kukkonen-Harjula, 2006). See our medical disclaimer.
Is a steam sauna good for losing belly fat?
No. The weight you lose is water: men lost 1.4–1.8% of body weight over three 20-minute sauna sessions in one small study (Gutiérrez, 2003). It's water, not fat.
What toxins come out in a steam sauna?
Sweat contains traces of metals and other compounds, according to a review of 24 studies (Sears, 2012). No study has shown that sweating them out improves health.
Are there two-person portable steam saunas?
Yes, a few brands sell them, including SereneLife. Every model in our database is for one person, so I can't compare them yet.
How we picked
Every steam tent gets 1.5 to 2 points on each of 5 criteria: Heat figures, published specs, price per person, warranty and returns and owner reviews. The score out of 10 is the sum, from 7.5 to 10. Owner reviews not summarized yet, so every model gets 1.75 of 2 points there for now. Prices were checked on Oct 8, 2026. Read the full method.


















