
Best dry saunas
17 dry saunas compared on heat, max temp, wood and power. Our top pick is the Redwood Outdoors Alcove Indoor Sauna - 2 Person, $4,299. Read the full summary ↓
All 17 dry saunas
17 of 17 dry saunas


Haven Indoor Sauna - 3 Person

FD-5 Trinity XL Infrared & Steam Sauna Combo

Element Loft 3 Person (605003)

FD-4 Trinity Infrared & Steam Sauna Combo

Element Nook 2 Person (606003)

Madison 2-3 Person Indoor Sauna

Rainelle 4 Person Indoor Sauna

Bridgeport 6 Person Indoor Sauna

Serena 3 Person Indoor Sauna

Logan 1 Person Indoor Sauna


Copenhagen 3 Person (GDI-7389-02)

Sundsvall 2 Person (GDI-7289-02)

Vita (DesignerSeries)


Alcove Indoor Sauna - 2 Person


Haven Indoor Sauna - 3 Person

FD-5 Trinity XL Infrared & Steam Sauna Combo

Element Loft 3 Person (605003)

FD-4 Trinity Infrared & Steam Sauna Combo

Element Nook 2 Person (606003)

Madison 2-3 Person Indoor Sauna

Rainelle 4 Person Indoor Sauna

Bridgeport 6 Person Indoor Sauna

Serena 3 Person Indoor Sauna



Copenhagen 3 Person (GDI-7389-02)

Sundsvall 2 Person (GDI-7289-02)


Filters
All dry saunas compared
| Model | Price | Heat | Seats | Max temp | Wood | Power | Warranty | Returns |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Redwood Outdoors Alcove Indoor Sauna - 2 Person | $4,299 | Electric heater, 6 kW Harvia KIP | 2 | 194°F | FSC-certified wood (species not stated) | 240 V heater (amperage not stated) | 1 year | 30 days |
| Sun Home Nova 6-Person Indoor Traditional Sauna | $15,799 | Electric heater, HUUM DROP 7.5 kW (included), with stones | 6 | 230°F | Canadian cedar | 240 V on a dedicated 40 A circuit, hard-wired | Limited lifetime | 30 days |
| Redwood Outdoors Haven Indoor Sauna - 3 Person | $5,499 | Electric heater, 6 kW Harvia KIP | 3 | Not stated | FSC-certified wood (species not stated) | 240 V heater (amperage not stated) | 1 year | 30 days |
| Finnmark Designs FD-5 Trinity XL Infrared & Steam Sauna Combo | $8,995 | Infrared plus electric stove, Spectrum Plus emitters and Harvia KIP45B 4.5 kW | 3–4 | 194°F | Clear A grade Canadian Western Red Cedar (interior), Thermal Plus Canadian Aspen (exterior) | IR: 240 V / 15 A, NEMA 6-15P plug | 10 years | 30 days |
| Dundalk LeisureCraft Element Loft 3 Person (605003) | $9,534 | Electric heater, sold separately (brand recommends 6 kW) | 2–3 | Not stated | Thermo Grandis (thermally modified, Ontario) | 240 V, 30-50 A depending on the heater | 5 years | 30 days |
| Finnmark Designs FD-4 Trinity Infrared & Steam Sauna Combo | $7,795 | Infrared plus electric stove, Spectrum Plus emitters and Harvia Vega Compact 1.9 kW | 2 | 194°F | Clear A grade Canadian Western Red Cedar (interior), Thermal Plus Canadian Aspen (exterior) | IR: 1,750 W, 120 V / 15 A, plugs into a 15 A outlet | 10 years | 30 days |
| Dundalk LeisureCraft Element Nook 2 Person (606003) | $8,435 | Electric heater, sold separately (brand recommends 4.5 kW) | 1–2 | Not stated | Thermo Grandis (thermally modified, Ontario) | 240 V, 30-50 A depending on the heater | 5 years | 30 days |
| Almost Heaven Madison 2-3 Person Indoor Sauna | $5,160 | Electric heater, 6 kW Harvia KIP | 2–3 | 180°F | Rustic Red Cedar or Hemfir, thickness not stated | 6 kW heater (Harvia KIP) | Limited lifetime | 30 days |
| Almost Heaven Rainelle 4 Person Indoor Sauna | $5,859.20 | Electric heater, 6 kW Harvia KIP (base) | 4 | 180°F | Rustic Red Cedar or Hemfir, thickness not stated | 6 kW heater (Harvia KIP, base) | Limited lifetime | 30 days |
| Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6 Person Indoor Sauna | $6,099.20 | Electric heater, 8 kW Harvia KIP | 6 | 180°F | Rustic Red Cedar or Hemfir, thickness not stated | 8 kW heater (Harvia KIP) | Limited lifetime | 30 days |
| Almost Heaven Serena 3 Person Indoor Sauna | $4,725 | Electric heater, Harvia 6 kW KIP (included) | 3 | Not stated | Traditional & Rustic Red Cedar, 1⅜ in tongue-and-groove | 240 V / 30 A hard-wired (6 kW heater) | Limited lifetime | 30 days |
| Almost Heaven Logan 1 Person Indoor Sauna | $4,172 | Electric heater, Harvia 6 kW KIP (included) | 1 | 180°F | Rustic Red Cedar or Hemfir, 1⅜ in tongue-and-groove | 240 V / 30 A hard-wired (6 kW heater) | Limited lifetime | 30 days |
| Aleko STHE4INNY 4-Person Hemlock Indoor Sauna | $6,299 | Electric heater, 4.5 kW | 4 | 194°F | Canadian Hemlock | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Golden Designs Copenhagen 3 Person (GDI-7389-02) | $8,999 | Electric heater, 8.0 kW | 3 | 190°F | Canadian Red Cedar (interior), Pacific Premium Clear Cedar (exterior) | 240 V / 40 A (heater), 120 V / 15 A (lights, music) | Not stated | 30 days |
| Golden Designs Sundsvall 2 Person (GDI-7289-02) | $7,999 | Electric heater, 6.0 kW | 2 | 190°F | Canadian Red Cedar (interior), Pacific Premium Clear Cedar (exterior) | 240 V / 30 A (heater), 120 V / 15 A (lights, music) | Not stated | 30 days |
| Finnleo Vita (DesignerSeries) | $17,195 | Electric heater, Piccolo rock-tower 3.5 kW | Not stated | Not stated | Clear vertical grain Canadian Hemlock, interior and exterior (Western Red Cedar optional) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Finnleo Sisu Custom Free Standing Sauna | Price on request | Electric heater, Finnleo, with stones and guard | Not stated | Not stated | Species selectable (not listed on the page) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Which dry sauna to buy
We track 17 dry saunas. Our top pick is Redwood Outdoors Alcove Indoor Sauna - 2 Person, scored 9.25/10. 15 use an electric heater and 2 combine infrared and an electric stove. Prices run $4,172 to $17,195, checked Oct 8, 2026. 1 model is price on request.
A "dry sauna" in a store is a traditional Finnish sauna: an electric heater with stones, low humidity, and steam only when you pour water on the rocks. Infrared cabins are dry too, but they run cooler: Cleveland Clinic gives 110–135°F for infrared against 150–195°F for a traditional sauna (Cleveland Clinic).
Every indoor dry sauna here with a published supply runs its heater on 240 V, so budget for an electrician. My picks: the Redwood Outdoors Alcove Indoor Sauna - 2 Person ($4,299) if you can live with a 1-year warranty, Dundalk's Element Nook ($8,435, heater extra) for 5 years of cover, and the Finnmark Designs FD-4 Trinity Infrared & Steam Sauna Combo ($7,795) if you want infrared and stones in one cabin.
I compared 17 indoor dry saunas from $4,172 to $17,195 where a price is published: 15 with an electric heater only and 2 Finnmark hybrids that add infrared emitters.
Almost Heaven's Madison ($5,160) comes with a 6 kW Harvia KIP and a lifetime warranty that can't be passed to a new owner; its Rainelle and Bridgeport carry the same terms for four to six people. Golden Designs' Copenhagen and Sundsvall come with the heater, a bucket and a ladle, but their warranty terms came from a page excerpt I couldn't confirm. Finnleo's Vita is sold through a dealer at $17,195 with delivery and installation, and I couldn't find Finnleo's warranty terms. Finnleo's Sisu is built to size through dealers with no published price, and the Aleko STHE4INNY 4-Person Hemlock Indoor Sauna has no confirmed warranty or return terms.
What counts as a traditional (dry) sauna
A heater warms a pile of stones, the stones heat the air, and you control humidity with a ladle of water. Finns call that burst of steam löyly. Stores use "traditional", "Finnish" and "dry" for the same thing. A review of heat therapies puts Finnish saunas at about 80–100°C (176–212°F) with 10–20% humidity (Laukkanen and Kunutsor, 2024).
A steam room is something else: a sealed room with a steam generator and near-100% humidity at much lower temperatures. That's on our steam saunas page.
Electric heater size and wiring
| Model | Price | Heater | Supply |
|---|---|---|---|
| Redwood Outdoors Alcove Indoor Sauna - 2 Person | $4,299 | 6 kW | 240 V heater |
| Sun Home Nova 6-Person Indoor Traditional Sauna | $15,799 | 7.5 kW | 240 V on a dedicated 40 A circuit, hard-wired; 7.5 kW heater; licensed electrician required |
| Redwood Outdoors Haven Indoor Sauna - 3 Person | $5,499 | 6 kW | 240 V heater |
| Finnmark Designs FD-5 Trinity XL Infrared & Steam Sauna Combo | $8,995 | 4.5 kW | two 240 V lines |
| Dundalk LeisureCraft Element Loft 3 Person | $9,534 | 6 kW (recommended; sold separately) | 240 V, 30-50 A depending on the heater |
| Finnmark Designs FD-4 Trinity Infrared & Steam Sauna Combo | $7,795 | 1.9 kW | 120 V for both the infrared and the stove |
| Dundalk LeisureCraft Element Nook 2 Person | $8,435 | 4.5 kW (recommended; sold separately) | 240 V, 30-50 A depending on the heater |
| Almost Heaven Madison 2-3 Person Indoor Sauna | $5,160 | 6 kW | not confirmed by the brand |
| Almost Heaven Rainelle 4 Person Indoor Sauna | $5,859.20 | 6 kW | not confirmed by the brand |
| Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6 Person Indoor Sauna | $6,099.20 | 8 kW | not confirmed by the brand |
| Almost Heaven Serena 3 Person Indoor Sauna | $4,725 | 6 kW | 240 V, 30 A |
| Almost Heaven Logan 1 Person Indoor Sauna | $4,172 | 6 kW | 240 V, 30 A |
| Aleko STHE4INNY 4-Person Hemlock Indoor Sauna | $6,299 | 4.5 kW | not confirmed by the brand |
| Golden Designs Copenhagen 3 Person | $8,999 | 8 kW | 240 V, 40 A |
| Golden Designs Sundsvall 2 Person | $7,999 | 6 kW | 240 V, 30 A |
| Finnleo Vita | $17,195 | 3.5 kW | not confirmed by the brand |
| Finnleo Sisu Custom Free Standing Sauna | Price on request | not stated | not confirmed by the brand |
Two things decide the heater: the volume of the room and the supply you can run to it. Dundalk is the only brand here that ties them together in numbers. It recommends a 4.5 kW heater for the 93 cu ft Element Nook and 6 kW for the 135 cu ft Loft. Golden Designs lists 30 A for its 6 kW heater and 40 A for the 8 kW one.
Almost Heaven lists 240 V / 30 A for the Logan and Serena, but the Madison, Rainelle and Bridgeport pages I could open don't give a supply, so ask before you book an electrician. The Finnmark FD-4 is the exception to the 240 V rule: Finnmark lists the stove at 120 V / 15.9 A and the infrared on a 15 A outlet, two loads that may need two circuits. Either way, check with a licensed electrician. Heater models, room volumes and US safety listings are compared on our sauna heaters page.
Cedar, hemlock or thermowood
Most cabins here are red cedar: Almost Heaven (Rustic Red Cedar, or Hemfir as an option), Golden Designs and Finnmark. Dundalk's Element saunas are Thermo Grandis, a thermally modified wood from Ontario. Finnleo's Vita and the Aleko are Canadian hemlock. Redwood Outdoors says only "FSC-certified wood" for its two indoor models, without the species.
I don't rate woods for durability; there's no source behind such ratings in what I've read. What you can compare is the warranty a brand puts on its cabin, below. More on species and grades on our sauna wood page.
Warranty: the cabin and the heater are covered separately
| Brand | Models | Cabin | Heater |
|---|---|---|---|
| Almost Heaven | 5 | Limited lifetime, ends when you sell the house or the sauna | Harvia: 1 year on the elements, 5 years on other parts |
| Sun Home | 1 | Limited lifetime | HUUM stove: 3 years on the body and controls |
| Finnmark | 2 | 10 years; infrared emitters lifetime | 2 years on the Harvia stove |
| Dundalk LeisureCraft | 2 | 5 years limited on material and assembly | Separate, per heater model |
| Redwood Outdoors | 2 | 1 year limited | Not stated separately |
| Golden Designs, Finnleo, Aleko | 5 | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
The headline number is usually the cabin's. Finnmark is the clearest about the split: 10 years on the cabin, lifetime on the infrared emitters, 2 years on the Harvia stove. Dundalk covers the cabin for 5 years and makes installation by a certified electrician a condition of its warranty. Almost Heaven's lifetime coverage sounds longest, but it stays with the first owner. Redwood's 1-year coverage is the shortest confirmed term in this group.
Outdoor, or infrared instead?
For a backyard, the same heaters go into barrels and cabins: see outdoor saunas, barrel saunas and cube and cabin saunas. If 240 V is the deal-breaker, most one- and two-seat infrared cabins plug into a regular outlet; the trade-offs are on our indoor saunas page. Does any of it do your health good? What the studies show.
Questions people ask
Is a dry sauna healthier?
No study I found compares sauna types on health outcomes. The best-known long-term data are from traditional dry saunas: in a cohort of 2,315 Finnish men, those who went four to seven times a week had lower rates of fatal heart disease than those who went once (Laukkanen, 2015). That's an association, not proof. See our medical disclaimer.
How long can I stay in a dry sauna, and is every day okay?
Studies typically used 5 to 20 minutes at 176–194°F (80–90°C), repeated one to three times (Kukkonen-Harjula, 2006). In the Finnish cohort the most frequent group went four to seven times a week. The same review notes that blood pressure medicine can make you dizzy when you stand up afterward.
Does a sauna reduce belly fat?
There's no evidence it does. The weight you lose is water: men lost 1.4–1.8% of body weight over three 20-minute sessions in one small study, and it hadn't come back an hour later because they hadn't drunk enough (Gutiérrez, 2003). A review rated the evidence on obesity as weak, from a single study (Beever, 2009).
What is the difference between a traditional and a Finnish sauna?
In US stores, none. Both mean a hot, dry room with a stove and stones, where you add steam by pouring water. "Finnish" points to where the custom comes from.
Is a traditional sauna better than an infrared sauna?
They differ in heat, wiring and cost more than in proven outcomes. A traditional sauna gets hotter and lets you make steam; an infrared cabin runs cooler and usually plugs in.
What happens after 20 minutes in a sauna?
Your heart rate rises, by about 18 beats per minute on average across 16 studies, and blood pressure dips for a while (Li, 2020). That's a heat response, not a workout.
How we picked
Every sauna gets 1.5 to 2 points on each of 5 criteria: Heat figures, published specs, price per person, warranty and returns and owner reviews. The score out of 10 is the sum, from 7.5 to 10. Owner reviews not summarized yet, so every model gets 1.75 of 2 points there for now. Prices were checked on Oct 8, 2026. Read the full method.


















