
Best sauna blankets
12 sauna blankets compared on heat, max temp, power and warranty. Our top pick is the Hooga Infrared Sauna Blanket, $399. Read the full summary ↓
All 12 sauna blankets
12 of 12 sauna blankets

Infrared Sauna Blanket

Infrared Sauna Blanket

Infrared Sauna Blanket



Infrared PEMF Sauna Dome


Infrared Sauna Blanket


Solo Dome Chromo

Solo System












Filters
All sauna blankets compared
| Model | Price | Heat | Seats | Max temp | Power | Warranty | Returns |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hooga Infrared Sauna Blanket | $399 | Far infrared | 1 | 176°F | 650 W | 3 years | 60 days |
| Sun Home Infrared Sauna Blanket | $499 | Far infrared | 1 | Not stated | Not stated | 1 year | 30 days |
| Bon Charge Infrared Sauna Blanket | $699 | Far infrared | 1 | 176°F | 600 W | 1 year | 30 days |
| HigherDOSE Infrared Sauna Blanket | $699 | Far infrared (single heating zone) | 1 | 175°F | 100–120 V (US), 350–420 W, 4–5 A | 1 year | 120 days |
| Clearlight The Curve Far Infrared Sauna Dome + Amethyst Infrared PEMF Mat | $1,599 | Far infrared (True Wave) + amethyst PEMF mat | 1 | 153°F | 120 V, 1000 W, 8.3 A | 7 years | 30 days |
| LifePro RejuvaWrap Infrared Sauna Blanket | $399.99 | Not stated | 1 | 176°F | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Bon Charge Infrared PEMF Sauna Dome | $3,349 | Far infrared 5–14 µm + PEMF 1–30 Hz + 660/850 nm LEDs | 1 | 194°F | 1200 W | 1 year | 30 days |
| LifePro CozyWrap Infrared Sauna Blanket with Arm Sleeves (LP-CZYWRP-BLK) | Price on request | Far infrared | 1 | Not stated | Not stated | Lifetime | Not stated |
| MiHigh Infrared Sauna Blanket | $179 | Far infrared | 1 | Not stated | Not stated | 1 year | 30 days |
| LifePro BioRemedy Plus Infrared Sauna Blanket | $179.99 | Far infrared, two-layer carbon threads, 4 heating zones | 1 | 158°F | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Sunlighten Solo Dome Chromo | $1,999 | Far infrared (SoloCarbon): 5 heaters in the domes, 2 heating zones | 1 | 150°F | 120 V, 1,260 W, 10.5 A | 7 years | 30 days |
| Sunlighten Solo System | Price on request | Far infrared (SoloCarbon): 5 heaters in domes + 4 in SoloPad | 1 | 150°F | Solo 120 V 1260 W 10.5 A + SoloPad 120 V 300 W 2.5 A | 7 years | 30 days |
Which blanket to buy
We track 12 sauna blankets. Hooga Infrared Sauna Blanket has the highest score, 9.5/10. Prices run $179 to $3,349, checked Oct 8, 2026. 2 models are price on request.
My pick is the Hooga at $399. It reaches 176°F, has a 3-year warranty spelled out on the brand's own page, and gives you 60 days to send it back, though return shipping is on you.
For the longest trial, HigherDOSE ($699) advertises 120 days money-back, but its store's legal policy says 14 days for unopened blankets, so get the terms in writing. The cheapest listing, MiHigh at $179, was sold out in both colors when I checked. Prefer a rigid shell? The Clearlight Curve dome is $1,599 (a sale price through October 13, 2026; regular $2,899) with a 7-year warranty, but it tops out at 153°F.
EMF claims: who gives a number
Only Sun Home puts an EMF figure on its blanket page: 0.4 mG, with no distance from the surface. LifePro's RejuvaWrap is quoted at 0.1–0.2 µT in search snippets of lifeprofitness.com, but the page itself blocked my visits, so that number isn't in the table. If it's right, it works out to 1–2 mG (one microtesla is 10 milligauss): higher than Sun Home's figure, even though it looks smaller.
Everyone else writes “low EMF”, “shielded wiring” or “negligible” and stops there. None of these brands links to an independent EMF measurement with a distance, and our database has none. We haven't reviewed research on EMF from heating pads or blankets, so this page treats EMF as a spec to compare, not as a safety rating.
| Model | Type | EMF claim | Top setting | Power |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hooga Infrared Sauna Blanket | Blanket | Shielded wiring, EMF output negligible; no figures | 176°F | 650 W |
| MiHigh Infrared Sauna Blanket | Blanket | No figure found | Not stated | Not stated |
| LifePro BioRemedy Plus Infrared Sauna Blanket | Blanket | No figure found | 158°F | Not stated |
| Sun Home Infrared Sauna Blanket | Blanket | 0.4 mG (distance not stated) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Bon Charge Infrared Sauna Blanket | Blanket | Low EMF design, EMF Shielding Tech; no figures | 176°F | 600 W |
| HigherDOSE Infrared Sauna Blanket | Blanket | Low EMF; carbon layer to mitigate EMF and ELF, no figures | 175°F | 100–120 V (US), 350–420 W, 4–5 A |
| Clearlight The Curve Far Infrared Sauna Dome + Amethyst Infrared PEMF Mat | Dome | Low EMF/ELF, True Wave; no figures | 153°F | 120 V, 1000 W, 8.3 A |
| Sunlighten Solo Dome Chromo | Dome | Independently tested ultra-low EMF, "lower than 95 percent of common household items"; no figure | 150°F | 120 V, 1,260 W, 10.5 A |
| Sunlighten Solo System | Dome | Ultra low EMF; no figures | 150°F | Solo 120 V 1260 W 10.5 A + SoloPad 120 V 300 W 2.5 A |
| LifePro RejuvaWrap Infrared Sauna Blanket | Blanket | No figure found | 176°F | Not stated |
| Bon Charge Infrared PEMF Sauna Dome | Dome | No figures given | 194°F | 1200 W |
| LifePro CozyWrap Infrared Sauna Blanket with Arm Sleeves (LP-CZYWRP-BLK) | Blanket | No figure found | Not stated | Not stated |
Do sauna blankets work?
A sauna blanket is a heating pad shaped like a sleeping bag. Carbon-fiber elements behind a wipe-clean shell warm you with far infrared while your head stays outside. You will sweat, and your body temperature will rise. What that does for your health is where the evidence thins out.
Almost all infrared research used cabins. The best-known protocol is Japan's “Waon” therapy: 15 minutes at 60°C (140°F), then 30 minutes resting under a blanket, studied in hospital patients with heart failure. A 2018 meta-analysis found short-term improvements in heart-function measures in those patients and rated the strength of evidence from moderate to insufficient (Källström et al., Clinical Cardiology). In 10 healthy women, a 45-minute infrared session raised body temperature more than moderate cycling did, but it didn't change blood pressure or arterial stiffness (Hussain et al., 2022). A 2009 review called the evidence for most infrared sauna claims weak (Beever, Canadian Family Physician). None of these studies used a blanket.
Two popular claims don't hold up. The weight you lose is water: three 20-minute sessions at 70°C took 1.4–1.8% off body mass in a small study, and an hour of drinking didn't bring it back (Gutiérrez et al., 2003). And “detox” is marketing. In 2015 the FDA had Therasage pull “naturally detoxify” and specific calorie-burn figures from its sauna materials (recall Z-1539-2015). If a blanket page promises either, that's the brand talking. How we handle health claims: medical disclaimer.
How long to stay in
Here's what the brands' own instructions say:
- HigherDOSE Infrared Sauna Blanket: 1 h timer; brand advises starting at 30–40 min.
- Hooga Infrared Sauna Blanket: timer 30–60 min in 5-min steps.
- Bon Charge Infrared Sauna Blanket: timer 5–60 min.
- LifePro BioRemedy Plus Infrared Sauna Blanket: timer 20–60 min.
- Sunlighten Solo System: brand suggests starting at 15–20 min, target 40 min.
Independent advice runs shorter. Cleveland Clinic suggests infrared sessions of 30 minutes or less, 3–4 times a week, at 110–135°F, with water on hand (Cleveland Clinic, 2022). The blankets here list top settings up to 176°F, but no brand says where that temperature is measured, so it isn't the same as cabin air. I'd start on a low setting and at the short end of the brand's range, then add time.
Downsides and safety
Overheating has already led to two US recalls of sauna blankets.
- LifePro BioRemedy — recalled October 23, 2025 (CPSC 26-036). About 78,000 blankets, 65 reports of overheating, 32 of them burns. Sold September 2022 to June 2025 for $179–199. The recall covers model numbers LP-BRMDYL-BLK, LP-BRMDYL-GRY, LP-BRMDYR-BLK, LP-BRMDYR-GRY, LP-BRMDYR-BLU, LP-BRMDYR-PNK and LP-BRMDYR-PRPL, and only blankets whose control pad has a gray face. The remedy is a replacement (CPSC notice).
- SLF Sauna Blanket by Tzumi — recalled May 28, 2026 (CPSC 26-511). About 3,600 blankets, six reports of overheating, five with minor damage to furniture. Sold at Target, Macy's and Snappy from February 2025 to February 2026 for about $130; model 30065TAR (CPSC notice). It isn't in our table.
Our table does include the LifePro BioRemedy Plus. The recall names specific model numbers and doesn't mention “Plus”, and I couldn't find a model number on the Plus listing, so I can't tell you whether it's covered. If you buy one, or any used LifePro blanket, check the model number and the control-pad color against the CPSC notice before you plug it in. The CozyWrap's model number, LP-CZYWRP-BLK, isn't on the recall list.
The rest are ordinary sauna risks. Blood pressure medication can make you dizzy when you stand up afterward (Kukkonen-Harjula and Kauppinen, 2006). In Finnish forensic data, about half of the people who died in saunas had been drinking (Kenttämies and Karkola, 2008). MotherToBaby says sauna use in pregnancy should be limited (fact sheet), and Cleveland Clinic advises against infrared saunas when you're pregnant or trying to conceive. A Brown University Health cardiologist lists unstable angina, a heart attack in the past two weeks, uncontrolled high blood pressure and severe aortic stenosis as reasons not to use a sauna at all (Brown Health, 2023).
On FDA status: Bon Charge's blanket and dome are registered/listed with the FDA as Class II infrared heating devices (product code ILY), with no 510(k) clearance. HigherDOSE has a company listing under the same code that doesn't name the blanket. I found no FDA record for the other models.
Blanket, dome or cabin
A blanket costs $179 to $699 here, plugs into a normal outlet and rolls into a closet. It holds the heat close to your body, and you lie still with your arms inside.
A dome is a rigid half-shell over a mat, so nothing touches you from above. The Clearlight Curve ($1,599) runs cooler than the blankets, at 153°F. The Bon Charge PEMF dome ($3,349) is the hottest model here at 194°F and adds 660 and 850 nm LEDs, with output the brand puts at 25–45 mW/cm² (dome) and no distance given. Sunlighten's Solo Dome Chromo lists at $1,999, the full Solo System is price on request, and Sunlighten charges a restocking fee on returns.
If you want warmth to lie on rather than a bag to sweat in, that is a far infrared heating mat, a different product.
Saunas with red light start at $959, and that one is a panel you add to a sauna you already own; full cabins cost much more. Compare them in saunas with red light and outdoor saunas, or see every type side by side, with wiring and prices, in our home sauna guide. One thing that isn't a sauna blanket: an LED “red light blanket” that lights you up without heating. Those are in red light beds and mats.
Single-model reviews: the HigherDOSE blanket. The Curve dome is in our Clearlight review. Two brands here also make LED face masks: HigherDOSE and Bon Charge.
What owners say
I haven't summarized store reviews model by model yet, which is why every model gets 1.75 of 2 points for reviews in the score. Two long write-ups give a sense of daily use.
Emily Henderson's site reviewed a HigherDOSE blanket after three years of use (Jess Bunge, January 21, 2023). The older unit “still works splendidly”. It takes about 10 minutes to warm up, most of the sweat ends up in your clothes rather than the bag, and the reviewer says it doesn't smell. A session takes 50–60 minutes, and the last 20–30 can be “challenging” (stylebyemilyhenderson.com).
Fit&Well's reviewer had the opposite first impression with a Heat Healer blanket, which isn't in our table: a “strong smell of heated plastic” that went away after a few uses. They also found it heavy and hard to get in and out of. The cleaning advice was to wipe it with antibacterial spray once it cools and not to fold it until it's fully cool (Lou Mudge, October 3, 2022, fitandwell.com).
Questions people ask
Do sauna blankets really work?
They do get you hot and sweaty, which is all a sauna does physically. Whether that heat does anything for your health is a separate question: the infrared studies I found used cabins, mostly in hospital patients, and none used a blanket. Details and sources are in the section above.
How long should you lay in a sauna blanket?
Brand timers on this page run up to 60 minutes, and HigherDOSE suggests starting at 30–40. Cleveland Clinic's general advice for infrared sessions is 30 minutes or less, 3–4 times a week. I'd start shorter and on a low setting. See how long to stay in.
What are the downsides of an infrared sauna blanket?
Two blanket lines have been recalled in the US for overheating, one with 32 reported burns. Add the usual sauna risks: dehydration, dizziness when you stand up, and trouble when you mix heat with alcohol. Pregnancy and unstable heart conditions are reasons to skip it. Sources are in downsides and safety.
How we picked
Every blanket gets 1.5 to 2 points on each of 5 criteria: Heat figures, published specs, price per person, warranty and returns and owner reviews. The score out of 10 is the sum, from 7.5 to 10. Owner reviews not summarized yet, so every model gets 1.75 of 2 points there for now. Prices were checked on Oct 8, 2026. Read the full method.


















