
Best red light therapy wands
15 wands compared on wavelengths, output, warranty and 510(k) records. Our top pick is the Solawave 2-in-1 Skincare Mini (61043), $119. Read the full summary ↓
All 15 wands
15 of 15 wands

2-in-1 Skincare Mini (61043)

HG24 Handheld (24 W)



DRx SpectraLite LipWare Pro

Red Light Face Wand

Mini Red Light Device (SG-MINI)

MitoPRO Mobile

TheraFace PRO LED Light Ring


for Wrinkles (1984)


POD S2

Go 2.0



HG24 Handheld (24 W)



DRx SpectraLite LipWare Pro

Red Light Face Wand

Mini Red Light Device (SG-MINI)

MitoPRO Mobile

TheraFace PRO LED Light Ring


for Wrinkles (1984)



Filters
All wands compared
| Model | FDA | Price | Wavelengths | LEDs | Brand irradiance | Measured | Warranty | Returns |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Solawave Bye Acne: 3-Minute Pimple Spot Treatment | FDA clearedK203271 | $69 | 415, 630 nm | Not stated | Not stated | Not measured | 1 year | 60 days |
| Solawave 2-in-1 Skincare Mini (61043) | FDA clearedK250532 | $119 | 630, 830 nm | 9 | Not stated | Not measured | 1 year | 60 days |
| Hooga HG24 Handheld (24 W) | Not in FDA database | $45 | 660, 850 nm | 12 | 80 mW/cm² at 6 in; 126 mW/cm² at 3 in (brand) | Not measured | 3 years | 60 days |
| Solawave 4-in-1 Radiant Renewal Skincare Wand (HD-15) | FDA clearedK232863 | $169 | 630 nm | 14 | 55 mW/cm² ±10% (510(k) K232863); distance not stated | Not measured | 1 year | 60 days |
| Hooga Red Light Therapy Facial Wand | Not in FDA database | $70 | 415, 460, 630 nm | Not stated | Not stated | Not measured | 1 year | 60 days |
| Dr. Dennis Gross DRx SpectraLite LipWare Pro | Clearance not confirmed | $148 | 605, 630, 660, 830, 880 nm | 56 | Not stated | Not measured | 1 year | 30 days |
| Bon Charge Red Light Face Wand | Not in FDA database | $149 | 660, 850 nm | Not stated | 5.5-7.3 mW/cm² (brand states 55-73 W/m²); distance not stated | Not measured | 1 year | 30 days |
| Bon Charge Mini Red Light Device (SG-MINI) | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $299 | 660, 850 nm | 12 | >100 mW/cm² (brand; lower bound shown); distance not stated | Not measured | 1 year | 30 days |
| Mito Red Light MitoPRO Mobile | Not in FDA database | $349 | 630, 660, 810, 830, 850 nm | 24 | >100 mW/cm² at 3 in (brand; lower bound shown) | Not measured | 2 years | 60 days |
| Therabody TheraFace PRO LED Light Ring | FDA clearedK212155 | $99.99 | 415, 633, 830 nm | Not stated | Red 73±5; blue 64±5; red+IR 73±5 / 55±5 mW/cm² (510(k) K212155); distance not stated | Not measured | 3 months | 30 days |
| Kala Therapy Wand (KALA-03) | FDA clearedK250761 | $169.99 | 415, 630 nm | 14 | Red 20 mW/cm²; blue 15 mW/cm² (510(k) K250761); distance not stated | Not measured | 2 years | Not returnable |
| LightStim for Wrinkles (1984) | FDA clearedK261482 | $269 | 605, 640, 652, 850 nm | 72 | 21.6 mW/cm² (510(k) K261482; 3.89 J/cm² per 3 min); distance not stated | Not measured | 5 years | 30 days |
| Kala Red Light Mini 2.0 (KALA-04) | FDA clearedK251781 | $339.99 | 630, 660, 830, 850 nm | 48 | 100 mW/cm² at the LED surface (brand); 510(k): mode 1 (660+850) 100±10, mode 2 (630+830) 90±10 mW/cm² | Not measured | 2 years | 30 days |
| Celluma POD S2 | FDA clearedK171323 | $499 | 465, 640, 880 nm | Not stated | Not stated | Not measured | 2 years | 30 days |
| Joovv Go 2.0 | FDA listed · no 510(k) | $549 | 660, 850 nm | 12 | More than 100 mW/cm² (distance not stated); light output up to 5 W | Not measured | 1 year | 30 days |
Which wand for what
We track 15 wands. Solawave 2-in-1 Skincare Mini (61043) has the highest score, 9.5/10, tied with 1 other model. 8 of 15 have an FDA 510(k) clearance on record. The lowest-priced FDA-cleared option is Solawave Bye Acne: 3-Minute Pimple Spot Treatment at $69. Prices run $45 to $549, checked Oct 8, 2026.
For the face, the cleared Solawave 2-in-1 Skincare Mini (61043) at $119 does the job by zone, and it avoids the reliability complaints that sink the bigger Solawave 4-in-1 in owner reviews; for the skin around the eyes, the Solawave Radiant Renewal Eye Recovery Pro (PH-e03) at $249, an eye mask with its own 510(k); for a knee or shoulder, the Hooga HG24 Handheld (24 W) at $45. Watch the output claims: the only two handhelds with an independent test, the Solawave 4-in-1 and the Bon Charge Mini, measured a fraction of what the brands state.
"Wand" covers two different tools. Face wands are small, touch or nearly touch the skin, and treat one zone at a time. Portable panels like the HG24 or the Mito Red Light MitoPRO Mobile are held a few inches away and aimed at a joint or a patch of skin. 8 of the 15 devices here are FDA-cleared. All but one are face wands; the exception, Kala's Mini 2.0, has a face mode and a body mode.
Two records sit outside the table because we don't link to a store for them: LightStim for Wrinkles has the longest warranty of any handheld here, 5 years (repair/replace, for US purchases); Therabody's TheraFace PRO LED ring is cleared for wrinkles around the eyes but needs a TheraFace PRO to attach to.
If you want your whole face done at once, a mask is less work. The Omnilux Contour Face covers the face in one 10 min session, while a wand at 3 minutes per zone takes 12 min for the same four zones by Solawave's own count.
Brand reviews: Solawave, and LumeBox, a handheld the size of a small panel. The Hooga HG24 screws into a lamp socket; bulbs like it are compared in red light bulbs.
Claimed vs measured
Two handhelds have an independent output test, both by Alex Fergus of lighttherapyinsiders.com, and both came in far below the brand's number.
- Solawave 4-in-1 Radiant Renewal Skincare Wand (HD-15). The 510(k) states 55 mW/cm² ±10%. Fergus measured 8 to 10.1 mW/cm² with a spectrometer (Aug 21, 2024), and he didn't give the distance. His review also says Solawave's own manual quotes 40 to 45 mW/cm², lower than the 510(k).
- Bon Charge Mini Red Light Device (SG-MINI). Bon Charge states >100 mW/cm². Fergus measured 7.5 mW/cm² at 6 inches (Mar 23, 2024). The unit he tested was sold as the "Hive Mini" before the rename; it matches today's Mini on specs (12 LEDs of 3 W, 660 and 850 nm), not by name.
Distance explains part of it and I can't say how much. A face wand touches the skin and a brand figure may be taken at the surface, while a test at a few inches reads lower. That is exactly why a figure with no distance attached is hard to use.
It matters for session length. Dose is output times time. At 10.1 mW/cm², three minutes per zone works out to about 1.8 J/cm². LightStim's 510(k) gives 21.6 mW/cm² and 3.89 J/cm² for the same three minutes. Whether either dose is the right one for skin is still open: published recommendations range widely.
FDA: which ones are cleared and for what
8 of the 15 handhelds match a 510(k): Solawave Bye Acne: 3-Minute Pimple Spot Treatment (K203271), Solawave 2-in-1 Skincare Mini (K250532), Therabody TheraFace PRO LED Light Ring (K212155), Solawave 4-in-1 Radiant Renewal Skincare Wand (K232863), Kala Therapy Wand (K250761), LightStim for Wrinkles (K261482), Kala Red Light Mini 2.0 (K251781) and Celluma POD S2 (K171323). The clearances cover facial wrinkles, and for the Kala wand, LightStim and the TheraFace ring also mild to moderate inflammatory acne with blue light. LightStim's clearance is for adults 22 and over.
The other 7 have no clearance: Hooga HG24 Handheld (no FDA record found), Hooga Red Light Therapy Facial Wand (no FDA record found), Dr. Dennis Gross DRx SpectraLite LipWare Pro (Dr. Dennis Gross says it's FDA-cleared, but I couldn't match it to a 510(k) record), Bon Charge Red Light Face Wand (no FDA record found), Bon Charge Mini Red Light Device (registered and listed with the FDA as a Class II device, with no 510(k) clearance), Mito Red Light MitoPRO Mobile (no FDA record found) and Joovv Go 2.0 (registered and listed with the FDA as a Class II device, with no 510(k) clearance). That doesn't make them unsafe; it means no one at the FDA looked at a claim for them. The full list is on the FDA-cleared devices page.
Return traps
Cheap devices hide the worst terms. The Kala Therapy Wand (KALA-03) is final sale (hygiene): no returns once it ships, only the warranty. Kala's Mini 2.0 terms: 30 days from delivery, money-back, $15 restocking fee. LightStim takes returns for 30 days, with a 15% fee if anything is missing from the box.
The Therabody TheraFace PRO LED Light Ring is an attachment, and its warranty is 90 days (attachment; TheraFace PRO itself: 1 year). At the other end, Solawave, Hooga and Mito Red Light give 60 days to try it.
Who should skip a wand
Solawave's manual has the clearest list. It says not to use the wand with active cancer or a cancerous lesion, if you are pregnant, planning to be or breastfeeding, under 18, on photosensitizing medication, with "a medical history of seizures or epilepsy triggered by light", or with an implanted electronic device such as a pacemaker. It also says not to use it over the thyroid, over varicose veins, or "on the eyes or very close to the eye area". The 4-in-1 is more than a light and is used with Solawave's activating serum, so a few of these warnings may be about its other functions; the ones about light apply to any wand.
LightStim's product page adds a practical note: apply anti-aging serums before the light if you like, but put benzoyl peroxide, Retin-A or other vitamin A products on after it.
Questions people ask
Do red light therapy wands really work?
A 510(k) clearance rests on equivalence to a device already sold; it is not a trial of how well the wand works. The light itself has small trials behind it for wrinkles and acne, mostly with clinic devices. With a wand the dose depends on output and minutes, and the two wands with an independent test came in well under their claims. The studies are on the benefits page.
Which is the best red light therapy wand?
For a face wand with a 510(k), the Solawave 2-in-1 Skincare Mini (61043) ($119); the Solawave 4-in-1 ($169) does more but scores lower on owner reviews, with 55 of 104 Amazon mentions of reliability negative. For body spots, the Hooga HG24 Handheld (24 W) is the cheapest at $45, with the longest warranty of the handhelds we link to, 3 years. The picks at the top are by our score.
What are the negatives of red light therapy?
With a wand: time, because you treat one zone at a time, usually 3 minutes each; output claims you can't check; and your eyes. Solawave warns that shining the LEDs into your eyes "may cause temporary loss of sight". Keep sessions within the brand's limits, and see the medical disclaimer.
How we picked
Every wand gets 1.5 to 2 points on each of 5 criteria: FDA record, published specs, price, warranty and returns and owner reviews. The score out of 10 is the sum, from 7.5 to 10. Prices were checked on Oct 8, 2026. Read the full method.



















