Red light panel irradiance: brand figures vs independent measurements
Measured average as a share of the brand figure
- Mito Red Light MitoADAPT MAX 4.0. Brand lists over 140 / over 60 mW/cm² at 6 in (two measurement methods). Measured by Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com, Mar 13, 2026; meter not stated; distance not stated. The brand figure is a lower bound ("over"), so the share is at most the value shown.
- Mito Red Light MitoPRO 1500+. Brand lists over 170 / over 68 mW/cm² at 6 in (two measurement methods). Measured by Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com, Aug 10, 2024; spectrometer; 6 in. The brand figure is a lower bound ("over"), so the share is at most the value shown.
- BlockBlueLight PowerPanel MEGA (Gen 6.0). Brand lists 167 mW/cm² (solar meter) / 89 mW/cm² (spectrometer), at 6 in. Measured by Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com, Jul 16, 2025; spectrometer; distance not stated.
- Hooga ULTRA1500. Brand lists 165 mW/cm² at 6 in (190 mW/cm² at 3 in). Measured by Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com, May 20, 2024; spectrometer; 6 in.
- Kala Red Light Elite Panel. Brand lists 161 mW/cm² at 6 in. Measured by Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com, Jul 11, 2026; spectrometer; 6 in.
- Joovv Mini 3.0. Brand lists more than 100 mW/cm² (distance not stated). Measured by Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com, Jan 24, 2024; meter not stated; 6 in. The brand figure is a lower bound ("over"), so the share is at most the value shown.
- Joovv Solo 3.0. Brand lists more than 100 mW/cm² (distance not stated). Measured by Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com, date not stated; spectrometer (Hopoo OHSP-350F); 6 in. The brand figure is a lower bound ("over"), so the share is at most the value shown.
- Hooga HG300. Brand lists 73 mW/cm² at 6 in. Measured by Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com, Oct 16, 2023; spectrometer; 6 in.
- PlatinumLED BIOMAX PRO ULTRA. Brand lists 121.12 mW/cm² at center, 102.62 average (High Power, 7×7 grid); LightLab International report LLIA002684-006, commissioned by the brand. Measured by Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com, Aug 21, 2025; meter not stated; distance not stated.
Solar meter vs spectrometer: the brands' own numbers
4 panels list two figures for the same unit on the brand's page, one from a solar power meter and one from a spectrometer, both at 6 in.
Mito explains why the two differ: solar meters “were originally designed to measure full-spectrum sunlight, not high-powered, narrowband LED light,” and on red and near-infrared devices they “can significantly overstate output - sometimes by as much as 2–3×” (Mito Red Light). Alex Fergus of Light Therapy Insiders, who tests panels with a spectrometer, adds that a solar meter “may respond differently to 660nm light than it does to 850nm light,” so it can read high or low (lighttherapyinsiders.com). The pairs below are each brand's own two figures, side by side.
Which panel for what
Only panels with an independent measurement and a store link, picked by the rule on each tile. The full list is in the table below.
Average at 6 in, the highest of the panels measured at that distance that have a store link. 300 LEDs, $1,299.
55 mW/cm² measured against 73 claimed, both at 6 in. At $199, it's also the cheapest panel with a measurement.
300 LEDs; the independent test measured 76.5 mW/cm² average at 6 in.
The brand lists “121.12 mW/cm² at center, 102.62 average (High Power, 7×7 grid); LightLab International report LLIA002684-006, commissioned by the brand”. Alex Fergus measured 101 mW/cm² average; the article doesn’t state the distance. $1,599.
All measured panels
Independent measurements as published, with the date.
| Panel | Brand lists | Measured | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| PlatinumLED BIOMAX PRO ULTRA | 121.12 mW/cm² at center, 102.62 average (High Power, 7×7 grid); LightLab International report LLIA002684-006, commissioned by the brand | 101 mW/cm² average (9 points) / 120 peak; distance and meter not stated in the article | Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com · Aug 21, 2025 |
| PlatinumLED BIOMAX 900 | Not stated | 90 mW/cm² average (9 points), spectrometer, 6 in; 8th generation (2024); article updated 2026-07-11 | Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com · Jul 11, 2026 |
| Kala Red Light Elite Panel | 161 mW/cm² at 6 in | 84 mW/cm² average (9 points), spectrometer, 6 in; article updated 2026-07-11 | Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com · Jul 11, 2026 |
| Hooga ULTRA1500 | 165 mW/cm² at 6 in (190 mW/cm² at 3 in) | 81.7 mW/cm² average (9 points) / 104 peak, spectrometer, 6 in | Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com · May 20, 2024 |
| BlockBlueLight PowerPanel MEGA (Gen 6.0) | 167 mW/cm² (solar meter) / 89 mW/cm² (spectrometer), at 6 in | 81 mW/cm² average / 105 peak, spectrometer; distance not stated; generation 5 model | Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com · Jul 16, 2025 |
| Mito Red Light MitoPRO 1500+ | Over 170 / over 68 mW/cm² at 6 in (two measurement methods) | 76.5 mW/cm² average / 87 peak, spectrometer, 6 in | Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com · Aug 10, 2024 |
| Joovv Solo 3.0 | More than 100 mW/cm² (distance not stated) | 59.2 mW/cm² average (9 points) / 72.4 peak, Hopoo OHSP-350F spectrometer, 6 in; article dated 2024-04, also in the 2025 comparison | Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com · date not stated |
| Mito Red Light MitoADAPT MAX 4.0 | Over 140 / over 60 mW/cm² at 6 in (two measurement methods) | 58 mW/cm² average (9 points) / 74 peak; distance and meter not stated in the article; 590 nm peak measured at 599 nm | Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com · Mar 13, 2026 |
| Hooga HG300 | 73 mW/cm² at 6 in | 55 mW/cm² average / 69 peak, spectrometer, about 6 in | Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com · Oct 16, 2023 |
| Joovv Mini 3.0 | More than 100 mW/cm² (distance not stated) | 53 mW/cm² average (9 points), 6 in; meter not stated in the article | Alex Fergus, lighttherapyinsiders.com · Jan 24, 2024 |


















