HigherDOSE infrared sauna blanket review: temperature, power, EMF claims and the 120-day return

One sauna blanket, $699. The HigherDOSE blanket's strongest point is the return window: 120 days, the longest of the blankets we track, though its legal policy reads "14 days, unopened blankets only". Against it: a one-year warranty where Hooga gives three, less wattage than Bon Charge at the same $699, and an EMF claim with no number. Price checked Oct 8, 2026.

HigherDOSE Infrared Sauna Blanket at a glance

PhotoModelWhat it isHeatSeatsWarrantyPriceActions
8.75
Current versionFar infrared (single heating zone)11 yr$699
Infrared Sauna BlanketCurrent version · Far infrared (single heating zone) · 1

Verdict

It scores 8.75/10 by our method: 1.75 of 2 for heat figures (one of max temperature or heat-up time), published specs (part of the specs published), price per person (up to 1.5× the category median), warranty and returns (returns 30+ days, warranty below the category median) and owner reviews (owner reviews not summarized yet).

Buy it if

you're not sure a sauna blanket is for you and want time to find out: 120 days covers a few months of regular sessions.

Specs

  • Heat: far infrared (single heating zone), up to 175°F, heat levels 1–9.
  • Power: 100–120 V (US), 350–420 W, 4–5 A.
  • Timer: 1 h timer; brand advises starting at 30–40 min.
  • In the box: an organic towel liner, per the product page.
  • Size: not stated on the HigherDOSE page.
  • Warranty: 1 year (limited).
  • Price: $699, checked Oct 8, 2026 on higherdose.com.

V3, V4 or the current one?

People search for the V3 and V4, but HigherDOSE doesn't put a version number on the current product page, and I found no first-hand source that lists what changed between versions. So I can't tell you which one the current blanket is. If you're buying second-hand, ask the seller for the model label and compare the specs above.

The 120-day return, and the fine print

Infrared Sauna Blanket
120 days · 1-yr

HigherDOSE's return policy page promises 120 days money-back on its "wellness technology", the blanket included. The store's legal refund policy, the standard Shopify page, says something different: "14 days, unopened blankets only". The two don't agree, and I couldn't find which one HigherDOSE applies. Before you buy, ask support to confirm the 120-day window for an opened blanket in writing, and keep the box.

If you use the window as a trial, start on day one, keep a simple log of sessions, and set a reminder a week before day 120.

HigherDOSE vs Bon Charge vs Hooga vs Sun Home

Four blankets near the same price, brand figures checked Oct 8, 2026
BlanketPricePowerTop temperatureEMF, as the brand puts itWarrantyReturns
HigherDOSE Infrared Sauna Blanket$699100–120 V (US), 350–420 W, 4–5 A175°FLow EMF; carbon layer to mitigate EMF and ELF, no figures1 year (limited)120 days money-back (legal policy: 14 days, unopened blankets only)
Bon Charge Infrared Sauna Blanket$699600 W; 100–240 V176°FLow EMF design, EMF Shielding Tech; no figures1 year30 days from receipt: exchange, refund or credit
Hooga Infrared Sauna Blanket$399650 W; AC 110–120 V176°FShielded wiring, EMF output negligible; no figures3 years60 days from delivery; buyer pays return shipping
Sun Home Infrared Sauna Blanket$499Not statedNot stated0.4 mG (distance not stated)1 year (all components)30 days from delivery, in the original packaging and like-new; items showing signs of use are not accepted

Only Sun Home puts a number on EMF, and with no distance from the surface it can't be compared with anything. Of these four, Hooga is the cheapest and lists the longest warranty and the most watts (650 W); HigherDOSE has the longest return window; Bon Charge lists 600 W at HigherDOSE's price. All blankets and domes are on the sauna blankets page. LifePro's RejuvaWrap isn't part of the 2025 recall of LifePro's BioRemedy blankets, but its specs come only from search snippets.

EMF: what HigherDOSE claims

HigherDOSE calls the blanket "low EMF" and says a charcoal layer is there "to mitigate EMF and ELF". It gives no figure and no distance, and I found no independent measurement, so the claim can't be checked. Whether low-level EMF from a heating blanket matters for health isn't something our sources cover, so I won't guess.

What it does and doesn't do

A sauna blanket heats you and makes you sweat. The weight you lose in a session is water: in a small 2003 study, three 20-minute sauna sessions took off 1.4–1.8% of body weight, and an hour of drinking didn't bring it back. On fat loss, a 2009 review of infrared saunas called the evidence "weak evidence, from a single study". On detox, a 2012 review found toxic elements in sweat but no evidence that sweating them out helps health. Almost all infrared heat research was done in cabins, not blankets. Nothing here is medical advice (medical disclaimer).

How to use it, how long, how often

HigherDOSE advises starting at 30–40 minutes; the timer runs to an hour. Cleveland Clinic's guidance for infrared saunas is shorter: no more than 30 minutes, 3–4 times a week, at 110–135°F, with water at hand (Cleveland Clinic). That guidance was written for cabins, and the blanket's 175°F top setting is above that range. The brand's advice is longer than the clinic's; which to follow is your call, ideally with your doctor's input if you have a health condition.

Downsides

  • Fluid loss in every session; drink water and get up slowly.
  • Who should check with a doctor first: pregnancy (MotherToBaby advises limiting sauna use), unstable heart disease, and blood pressure medicines, which can cause dizziness on standing after heat (review). No alcohol before a session (Hannuksela 2001).
  • One-year warranty on a $699 device.
  • Unpublished specs: no size, no version number, no EMF figure.

I haven't summarized owner reviews for this blanket yet; they'll be added when collected.

FDA status

HigherDOSE's blanket page says nothing about the FDA. In the FDA registration and listing database, Higher Dose LLC has a listing with the trade name simply "HIGHERDOSE", product code ILY ("Lamp, Infrared, Therapeutic Heating", Class II, exempt from 510(k)), since Jul 11, 2021. It isn't tied to the blanket by name, so the most I can say is that the brand is listed with the FDA, with no 510(k).

Questions people ask

Is a HigherDOSE sauna blanket worth it?

If the long return window matters to you, yes: 120 days is the longest among the blankets we track, at $699. If you know you'll use a blanket, Hooga is cheaper with a longer warranty and Bon Charge lists more power for the same price.

Do infrared sauna blankets really work?

They do heat you up and make you sweat. The weight that comes off is water, and there's no evidence that sweating removes toxins in a way that helps health. See the section on what it does and doesn't do above.

What are the downsides of using an infrared sauna blanket?

Fluid loss, medical cautions (pregnancy, heart disease, blood pressure medicines, alcohol), a one-year warranty, and specs HigherDOSE doesn't publish.

Do infrared saunas help with belly fat?

There's no good evidence they do. A 2009 review found only weak evidence on weight, from a single study, and the weight lost in a session is water.