Red light therapy for dogs (and horses): what studies show and which home devices exist
Almost every positive study of light therapy in dogs used a clinical laser, applied by a vet. Two small randomized trials in dogs with osteoarthritis found less pain; after surgery and for wounds the results split, and several careful trials found nothing. A 2023 systematic review of 45 studies found "a general lack of quality evidence". I found no published study of a home LED pad, mat or wrap for pets. The American Animal Hospital Association calls laser therapy a possible "useful adjunct" with "limited evidence", and the FDA doesn't review pet devices before they're sold.
So treat a home device as something to discuss with your vet, not a substitute for one. This page isn't veterinary advice; see the medical disclaimer.
What the studies show
The table below is every controlled dog study I found on PubMed for joints, surgery and wounds. The split that matters is between a clinical laser, often Class IV and run by a vet, and the LED pads sold for home use. They're both "light therapy", but the power is not comparable, and no trial has tested a consumer pet pad by brand.
| Studied in dogs with | Study | Size | Device | Result |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elbow osteoarthritis | Looney 2018 | 20 dogs, randomized, sham-controlled | Laser, 10–20 J/cm², 6 weeks | Less pain medicine needed (9 of 11 vs 0 of 9), lameness and pain scores better |
| Hip osteoarthritis | Alves 2022 | 20 dogs, 40 hips, double-blind | Class IV laser, 3 weeks | Pain and function better at 8–30 days, range of motion to day 90 |
| Spinal surgery (disc disease) | Draper 2012 | 36 dogs, assigned by order of arrival | 810 nm laser, 5 days | Walked again sooner: median 3.5 vs 14 days |
| Spinal surgery (disc disease) | Bennaim 2017 | 32 dogs, randomized, sham | Laser | No difference in recovery; no treatment-related side effects |
| Knee surgery (TPLO) | Kennedy 2018 | 12 dogs, randomized | Laser, 1.5–2.25 J/cm² | "No beneficial effects" on pain or limb function |
| Knee surgery (TPLO) | Renwick 2018 | 95 dogs, randomized | Class IV laser | Only the owners' gait score improved; bone healing no better |
| Fresh wounds | Kurach 2015 | 10 dogs | 635 nm low-power diode | No effect |
| Small wounds | Gammel 2018 | 10 dogs, placebo | 980 nm laser | No effect |
| Chronic wounds | Hoisang 2021 | 21 dogs, randomized | 830 nm or 660–905 nm laser | Wound area shrank 57–62% vs 42% in 15 days |
| Tail wounds (working dogs) | Fishelson 2026 | 16 dogs, sham | Photobiomodulation, daily for 2 weeks | No effect |
The Millis and Bergh review read 45 papers on dogs, cats and horses and concluded there's "a general lack of quality evidence in the scientific documentation regarding the clinical effects of laser and LED light therapy". On wounds it noted that "Three well-controlled blinded studies showed no effect". A 2025 evidence summary on osteoarthritis rated the evidence "Weak". Lumera, which sells a pet mat, says the same thing in its own FAQ: "research on another protocol does not verify a Lumera product result".
Do vets recommend red light therapy?
Some do, cautiously. The 2022 AAHA pain management guidelines put "physical modalities" including laser therapy in their second tier, for both acute and chronic pain. On acute pain: "Although there is currently limited evidence of efficacy of physical modalities (laser therapy, pulsed electromagnetic field therapy), future work may change recommendations." On chronic pain, laser therapy and similar options "may be useful adjuncts to consider, but little work has been performed to evaluate their benefit". The same guidelines say rehabilitation, including photobiomodulation, should be considered part of a wellness plan.
In practice, a 2020 survey of 89 Missouri vets found 43% had a laser, and 65% of those didn't know the dose they used, relying on the device's presets. Ask your vet whether they use one, and what for.
Why pet devices have no FDA clearance
Because the FDA doesn't require one. From the FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine: "The FDA does not require submission of a 510(k), PMA, or any pre-market approval for devices intended for animal use." Makers of animal-only devices don't have to register with the FDA or list their products, and "It is the responsibility of the manufacturer and/or distributor of these articles to assure that these animal devices are safe, effective, and properly labeled." The FDA can still act against a device that's mislabeled.
So an "FDA" badge on a pet device tells you little. Lumera calls its mat "FDA registered"; I found no Lumera record in the FDA's registration database. Multi Radiance calls its pet laser "FDA-cleared safe for at-home use"; the clearance I found, K254024, is for the human version of the device. How FDA review works for human devices, for contrast.
Home devices compared
9 devices are on sale with a published price, from $189.95 to $2,495. None states its output in mW/cm², so there's no way to compare them on dose. The closest figures: RevitaVet gives 600 mW total for its pad, and Equine & Canine Light Therapy puts its pad at about 9–10 J/cm² per session, a calculation rather than a measurement. Glowbie Spot, Glowbie Crate and Horseware Ireland LED Red Light Therapy Hock Boots (pair) don't give wavelengths in nanometers.
| Device | Type | For | Wavelengths | LEDs | Session (brand) | Terms | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LumaSoothe 2 (Combo) | Handheld | Dogs, cats | 470, 520, 590, 650 and 940 nm | Not stated | 15 min per area (5–8 min for the first 3–5 sessions), at least 4–5 hours apart | 2 years against manufacturing defects warranty; 30-day returns | $189.95 |
| Capillus Pet Vest | Vest, two pads | Dogs | 660 and 850 nm | 168 | 20 min (auto-off), 3–4 times a week | 1 year warranty; 90-day returns | $299 |
| Equine & Canine Light Therapy "Gospel's" Medium Light Therapy Pad | Pad with strap | Horses, dogs | 660 and 850 nm | 132 | Under 15 min per area (built-in timer); brand puts the dose at about 9–10 J/cm² | 1 year warranty; 30-day returns | $424 |
| Glowbie Spot | Handheld | Dogs, cats | Not disclosed | Not stated | 10–15 min, 2–3 times a week | 1-year limited warranty; 30-day returns | $299 |
| EquiCare LED Therapy Red Light Medium Wrap | Leg wrap | Horses | 660 and 850 nm | Not stated | 20–30 min, once or twice a day | 2 years on defects warranty; Free returns, window not stated | $449.99 |
| RevitaVet PetPad | Cordless pad | Dogs, cats | 650 nm | 120 | 10–15 min | 1-year limited warranty; 30-day returns | $499 |
| Lumera Revival Mat | Mat | Dogs up to 80 lb, cats | 660 and 850 nm | 480 | 10–15 min a day | Warranty not found; 14-day returns | $589.99 |
| Glowbie Crate | Crate with built-in light | Dogs, cats | Not disclosed | Not stated | 10–15 min (15–20 min elsewhere on the same page), 2–3 times a week | 1-year limited warranty; 30-day returns | $2,495 |
| Horseware Ireland LED Red Light Therapy Hock Boots (pair) | Hock boots, pair | Horses | Not disclosed | 112 | Not stated | 2 years warranty; Free returns, window not stated | $857.95 |
The score here works like the one for human devices, with one change: the FDA item is neutral for every pet device, because the FDA doesn't review them. That leaves published specs, price, warranty and returns, and owner reviews, which I haven't summarized for pet devices yet. LumaSoothe 2 (Combo) scores highest at 9.25/10. Terms differ more than specs do: Capillus Pet Vest gives 90 days to return it, Lumera Revival Mat only 14, and Lumera's warranty wasn't on its site when I checked.
PEMF loops and beds for dogs (Assisi, Petspemf and others) use a magnetic field, not light, and have their own trials; they're compared on PEMF for dogs.
Two devices aren't in the table. The Mito Red Light MitoPETS Pad is listed as "coming soon" on Mito's site with no price. My Pet Laser is a veterinary laser that a vet prescribes and you rent to use at home; it ships with two pairs of goggles and the clinic sets the price (Multi Radiance). It's the closest thing to the devices in the positive trials.
Red light therapy for horses
The horse evidence is thinner. The only randomized trial of an LED pad, the kind sold for home use, found nothing: Michanek 2021 treated a wound on one side of each of 8 horses' necks and found no "clinically relevant positive effect". With lasers, Haussler 2020 randomized 61 quarter horses with back pain and found less pain, muscle tension and stiffness in the laser groups, and Pluim 2020 saw smaller tendon-ligament lesions in a model on 12 horses. Coat and skin color matter: Luna 2020 found skin color changed how deep the light went.
Three devices in the table are made for horses: Equine & Canine Light Therapy "Gospel's" Medium Light Therapy Pad, EquiCare LED Therapy Red Light Medium Wrap, Horseware Ireland LED Red Light Therapy Hock Boots (pair). EquiCare's instructions say horses should be tied during treatment.
How long and how often
Only the makers give minutes; studies give doses in J/cm², and without an output figure you can't convert one to the other. What the brands say:
- LumaSoothe 2 (Combo): 15 min per area (5–8 min for the first 3–5 sessions), at least 4–5 hours apart (FAQ).
- Glowbie Spot and Crate: 10–15 min, 2–3 times a week (FAQ); the Crate page gives two different lengths.
- Capillus Pet Vest: 20 min (auto-off), 3–4 times a week (Capillus).
- Equine & Canine Light Therapy "Gospel's" Medium Light Therapy Pad: Under 15 min per area (built-in timer).
- EquiCare LED Therapy Red Light Medium Wrap: 20–30 min, once or twice a day.
- Mito's pet pad manual: Up to 10 min per area, 30 min per session at most, at least 6 hours apart (manual).
For people, the timing question is covered in how to use red light therapy; none of that has been tested on animals.
Side effects and safety
The one surgical trial that reported on it, Bennaim 2017, found "no adverse treatment-related events". The makers' warnings, in their own words:
- Eyes: "Don't shine the lights directly into the eyes of any animal (or person)" (Equine & Canine Light Therapy); Horseware and LumaSoothe say the same. Multi Radiance says "your pet may wear goggles for eye protection" with its laser (FAQ).
- Tumors: "Never use over a malignant tumor on any animal unless instructed by a qualified veterinarian" (Equine & Canine Light Therapy). LumaSoothe asks you to talk to a vet first if your pet has cancer.
- Pregnancy: Equine & Canine Light Therapy says not to use its pad on the abdomen of pregnant mares or dogs, and that it found no studies of that use (FAQ).
- Heat rubs: Mito warns against combining its pad with warming liniments or balms, "A skin burn could be the result" (manual). LumaSoothe and Equine & Canine Light Therapy say the same.
- Medicines: Mito says some medications increase light sensitivity and to check with your vet if your pet has taken antihistamines.
- Open wounds: the brands disagree. Mito, Horseware and EquiCare say not to use their devices over an open wound; Equine & Canine Light Therapy recommends its pad for wounds, through a film.
The human side of the safety evidence is in is red light therapy safe?.
Questions to ask your vet first
- What's the diagnosis, and is light therapy something you'd add to the current treatment or use instead of something?
- Do you offer laser therapy in the clinic, and how would a home pad compare?
- Is it safe with my pet's medicines, and over this area (a lump, a wound, the belly of a pregnant animal)?
- How often, for how long, and what change should we look for before deciding it isn't working?
For devices made for people, red light wraps and pads are the same kind of product with FDA records; the full picture for humans starts at the red light therapy guide.
Questions people ask
Does red light therapy actually work for dogs?
Two small randomized trials with clinical lasers found less pain in dogs with osteoarthritis. After surgery and for wounds, results are mixed, and a 2023 review found "a general lack of quality evidence". Home LED pads haven't been studied by brand.
Do vets recommend red light therapy?
The AAHA's 2022 guidelines call laser therapy a possible "useful adjunct" with "limited evidence" and put it in their second tier. In one survey, 43% of vets had a therapy laser.
How long do I use red light therapy on my dog?
Follow the device's instructions; makers suggest from about 10 to 20 minutes per area, a few times a week. Ask your vet before starting, especially over a lump, a wound or a pregnant animal's belly.
What are the side effects of red light therapy for dogs?
A randomized surgical trial reported none. Makers warn against shining the light into the eyes, using it over tumors without a vet's say-so, and combining it with heat-producing rubs, which can burn.
What is the best red light therapy device for dogs?
No home device has trial data, so I rank them on specs, terms and price: LumaSoothe 2 (Combo) scores highest, but I don't link to a store for it; the highest-scoring one I do link to is Capillus Pet Vest ($299). A vet-prescribed laser such as My Pet Laser is the closest to what was used in the positive studies.


















